Future Students:


Employee Organizations

AAFSC Scholarship History

FMU AAFSC Scholarship History


The FMU AAFSC Scholarship was established April 2003 with an initial investment of $1000.00 to the Office of Development, Francis Marion University. The scholarship designated for minority students with financial need, assists them in achieving their educational and career goals. Two scholarships in the amount of $500.00 each were awarded with subsequent scholarships and their amounts determined on an annual basis.

In April 2005, the Coalition agreed to rename the scholarship on behalf of Dr. Joseph E. Heyward, a founding member, FMU retiree and former VP of Student Affairs. With the Joseph E. Heyward AAFSC Scholarship we increased our recipients to four. During the 2006/2007 academic year we awarded eight deserving students $1000.00 scholarships each.

In December 2006, Francis Marion University established a scholarship in memory of Rebecca S. Lunn, former coordinator of provisional programs. The Rebecca S. Lunn AAFSC Scholarship was created to pay tribute to Lunn’s 30 years of service to FMU and her dedication to the Coalition. Lunn served as the first elected president of the Coalition then later in other leadership roles. This scholarship, initially created to be awarded to one recipient a year, is funded annually in the amount of $1000.00 with $500.00 being awarded each semester. As of the 2009/2010 academic year the number of scholarship recipients was increased to two.

During the spring of 2008 a scholarship was established at FMU by the Coalition in honor of Chemistry Professor LeRoy “Pete” Peterson Jr. The Dr. LeRoy “Pete” Peterson Endowed Scholarship was created to pay tribute to Peterson’s distinguished career as a faculty member in chemistry, which began in the fall of 1990. Dr. Peterson also served as an interim president of the Coalition during its inception and later as one of its first elected officers – parliamentarian. The Peterson Scholarship has been permanently endowed at $25,000.00 with the first installment derived from proceeds generated through the FMU Foundation Chairman’s Golf Classic in March 2008. The Coalition awarded its first Peterson Scholarship during the fall of 2009 for $1000.00.

To date, the FMU African-American Faculty and Staff Coalition has awarded over $50,000.00 in scholarships to deserving students in need.


"Together We Can"




Last Published: December 5, 2014 4:03 PM


Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from