The University
Business Affairs
Office of General Counsel
University Communications
Institutional Review Board

Future Students:



August 6, 2004




Wampee Conference Center


Pinopolis, South Carolina


Friday, August 6, 2004 – 10:37 am – 10:57 am



Presiding:                                                        Present:


Mrs. Gail N. Richardson                                              Mr. James A. Brown, Jr.


Chair                                                                           Mr. Hal Campbell


                                                                                    Mr. William W. Coleman, Jr.                                                                                                   Dr. H. Randall Dozier


Mr. L. Franklin Elmore


                                                                                    Mrs. Melissa Emery


                                                                                    Mr. Kenneth W. Jackson


                                                                                    Mr. Alex Kiriakides, III


                                                                                    Mr. Robert E. Lee 


                                                                                    Mr. George C. McIntyre


                                                                        Mr. W. C. Stanton




Others Present:



Dr. Ken Autrey, Chair of the Faculty


Mr. Garry L. Ballard, Executive Director of Communications Services


Mrs. Janet R. Braddock, Executive Assistant to the President


Mr. Darryl Bridges, Dean of Students


Dr. Fred Carter, President


Dr. Richard Chapman, Provost


Mrs. Elizabeth I. Cooper, Director of Community Relations


Ms. Angela Crosland, Reporter, Morning News


Mrs. Kim Davis, Human Resources Assistant – Employment


Mr. Jay Dowd, Vice President for Development/Executive Director of FMU Foundation


Mr. Daniel Dukes, Legislative Liaison


Dr. Gary W. Hanson, Vice President for Administration


Mr. Murray Hartzler, Director of Athletics and Men’s Soccer Coach


Dr. Joseph E. Heyward, Vice President for Student Affairs


Dr. Mike Jordan, Professor of Psychology/Director of Institutional Research


Mr. Howard Lundy, Administrative Manager/University Auditor


Mrs. Kelly Sellers, Director of Alumni Affairs


Dr. Charlene Wages, Professor of Psychology
















Mrs. Gail Richardson, Chair of the Board, called the meeting to order at 10:37 am.  Mrs. Richardson noted for the record that media notification had been made in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, and a quorum was present.  She then asked Mrs. Jan Braddock to call the roll.  Mrs. Richardson also noted that the following Board members had an excused absence:  Mrs. Teresa Anderson, Mr. Bill Ellen, Mr. Edward Ervin, Mrs. Patricia Hartung, Rep. Thomas Keegan, Senator Hugh Leatherman, Mrs. Carolyn Shortt, and Mr. Robert Williams.



Mrs. Richardson then recognized the Board’s new member, Mr. Hal Campbell, appointed by the Governor.  Mr. Campbell is an FMU alum and owns Computer Dimensions, Inc.  Mr. Campbell is a past president of the FMU Alumni Association and also serves on the FMU Foundation Board.



Mrs. Richardson then brought the minutes of the May 28, 2004 Board Meeting to the Board for approval.  Mr. Ken Jackson made a motion that the minutes be approved.  Mr. George McIntyre seconded the motion.  The minutes received unanimous approval by the Board.



Mrs. Richardson then presented Resolution 06-04, 2004-2005 Budget Approval and Budget Summary, to the Board for approval.  Mrs. Richardson noted the wonderful presentation on the budget given by Mr. Howard Lundy in the Board discussion sessions.  Mr. Coleman made a motion that the resolution be approved.  Dr. Dozier seconded the motion.  The resolution received unanimous approval by the Board.



Mrs. Richardson presented Resolution 07-04, Establishing Standing Committees, to the Board for approval.  Dr. Dozier made a motion that the resolution be approved.  Mr. Lee seconded the motion.  The resolution received unanimous approval by the Board.



Mrs. Richardson presented Resolution 08-04, Establishing 2004-05 Meeting Dates, to the Board for approval.  Mr. Lee made a motion that the resolution be approved.  Mr. Kiriakides seconded the motion.  The resolution received unanimous approval by the Board.



President’s Report:



Dr. Carter recognized Mrs. Kim Davis for her hard work and error free reports for Institutional Effectiveness while maintaining her regular Human Resource duties. Dr. Carter stated that he wanted to mention a problematic issue, with a promise that at the November meeting he, along with the Provost and Mr. Kispert, will bring some possible solutions to deal with the issue.  The problem has to do with the increase in insurance premiums for state employees.  Dr. Carter stated that he is particularly troubled because the rate increase this year for employees who have full-family coverage equals about $60.00 per month.  This means that, for those employees who make $25,000 or less per year, the insurance premium increase has virtually negated the pay increase that they received this past year.  Dr. Carter said that after we get the final enrollment for Fall 2004, a plan would be prepared to bring before the Board for consideration at the November meeting.











Other Business:



Mrs. Richardson stated that she had received many accolades for the Board from faculty and staff for the pay raise that the Board voted to give employees.  Also, Mrs. Richardson noted that during the Board Retreat, the Board members have seen wonderful video presentations on two Board members, Senator Hugh Leatherman and Mr. Robert Williams.  Senator Hugh Leatherman was presented the 2004 Transportation Advocate Award of the Year.  Mr. Robert Williams was presented the Distinguished Community Service Award from the Florence Chamber of Commerce in February 2004.



Mr. Kiriakides asked about a letter from CHE concerning new ideas for Performance Funding.  Dr. Carter responded by stating that CHE has formed a work group from the Council of Presidents consisting of Dr. Sorenson, Dr. Barker, Dr. Greenberg, Dr. Hallman, Dr. Ingle, and himself.  The group is in the process of reviewing the Performance Funding system and trying to develop an approach that would be more institution specific.  The approach hopefully would look at the diverse roles that the different institutions play in South Carolina.  Dr. Carter said that hopefully they would be able to work with the Commission on Higher Education in eliminating the bulk of indicators that are used now.  The hope would be to keep three or four of the already existing indicators that could be applied across all institutions, while putting in place some new indicators that will look at individual institution’s missions and purposes.  Dr. Carter also noted that the Performance Funding process is set in law.  The only way that it can be changed is this work group, and then subsequently the Council of Presidents working with CHE to go to the General Assembly with a new plan for Performance Funding.



Mrs. Richardson then recognized Mr. Jay Dowd, the new Vice President for Development and Executive Director of the FMU Foundation.



Mrs. Richardson closed by saying how wonderful and informative this Board Retreat has been.  Dr. Gary Hanson and Mrs. Libby Cooper were acknowledged for their hard work in planning this retreat.




The meeting was adjourned at 10:57 am.



 Respectfully Submitted,






Teresa C. Anderson




Last Published: January 19, 2006 9:58 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from