College of Liberal Arts
School of Business
School of Education
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Other Academic Programs
Graduate Program
Academic Resources
Programs
Student Handbook

Future Students:

Apply
Now!

School of Education

Welcome from the Dean

Welcome to the School of Education

Welcome to Francis Marion University's School of Education. With a degree in education, you will have the opportunity to influence future leaders in education and other careers.

We have teacher certification programs in early childhood, elementary, middle, art, secondary math, and secondary English.  All programs include extensive clinical practice in area schools, culminating with a 12-week student teaching experience.  Our graduates are well-prepared to become highly effective educational leaders. 

At the graduate level, we have advanced programs in Instructional Accommodation (M.Ed.-IA) and Learning Disabilities (M.Ed.-LD).  We also have the Master of Arts in Teaching-Learning Disabilities (M.A.T.-LD), which is an initial certification program for individuals who have a non-education bachelors’ degree.  

All programs received recent accreditation through 2019 from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), which is currently transitioning to the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). We are proud that all standards were met and no areas of improvement were noted. This achievement was a collaborative effort among the entire FMU administration, faculty, staff, & the Pee Dee area school community. We also appreciated the strong support from our alumni.

The School of Education’s faculty have wide-ranging public school teaching experience and are actively involved in local, state, and national research and presentations.  

If you have questions about our educational programs, campus regulations, and/or FMU life in general, please contact one of our administrative associates or a program coordinator.  

We look forward to helping you prepare for an exciting future in education.

Shirley Carr Bausmith, Ph. D.

Dean and Associate Professor of Education

JStone@fmarion.edu

FMU ’91, ‘94

 

Undergraduate program coordinators:

Early Childhood (Grades PK-3): Dr. Jeanne Gunther, JGunther@fmarion.edu

Elementary (Grades 2-6): Dr. Erik Lowry, ELowry@fmarion.edu

Middle (Grades 5-8): Dr. Jeff Lee, JLee@fmarion.edu

Secondary math (Grades 9-12): Dr. Sharon O'Kelley, SOkelley@fmarion.edu

Secondary English (Grades 9-12): Dr. Matt Nelson, MNelson@fmarion.edu

Art education (Grades K-12): Dr. Howard J. Frye, HFrye@fmarion.edu

 

Graduate program coordinators:

Instructional Accommodation (M.Ed.-IA,): Dr. Tracy Meetze, TMeetze@fmarion.edu

Master in Education (M.Ed.-LD): Dr. Polly Haselden, KHaselden@fmarion.edu

Master of Arts in Teaching-Learning Disabilities (M.A.T.-LD): Dr. Cindi Nixon, CNixon@fmarion.edu

 

Administrative Associates:

Jennifer Stone, 843-661-1460, JStone@fmarion.edu

Caroline Watts, 843-661-1470, CWatts@fmarion.edu

                   Like Us On Facebook      

Last Published: February 25, 2014 1:44 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from