Biology People

One of the strengths of an education at Francis Marion University is the fact that professors to get to know their students, not just as pupils in a classroom, but as friends and colleagues. This enhances the student’s ability to learn and prepares them for success in the next phase of their careers. The key factor that contributes to this personal education is the size and organization of the department. The average enrollment of classes in our department are 60-80 in the introductory freshman classes and 30-50 in the upper-level classes.

You can use the information below to find anyone in the Biology Department. If you have any questions about anything, any one of us would be glad to help.

Full-Time Faculty and Staff

Dr. Tamatha R. Barbeau

Associate Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Pre-Veterinary Program

Office: MSB 301H
Phone: 843-661-4651
tbarbeau@fmarion.edu

Dr. Vernon W. Bauer

Chair, Department of Biology, Professor of Biology, Co-coordinator of Pre-Medical Program

Office: LSF 204G
Phone: 843-661-1409
vbauer@fmarion.edu

Dr. Jeffrey D. Camper

Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Wildlife and Fisheries Cooperative Program

Office: LSF 204E
Phone: 843-661-1418
jcamper@fmarion.edu

Angela C. Cantey

Administrative Assistant - Biology

Office: LSF 204
Phone: 843-661-1382
acantey@fmarion.edu

Dr. Erin M. Eaton

Associate Professor of Biology, Co-coordinator of Pre-Medical Program

Office: LSF 204F
Phone: 843-661-1627
eeaton@fmarion.edu

Dr. Peter D. King

University Provost, Dean of the Francis Marion College of Liberal Arts, Professor of Biology, James K. Konduros Professor of Leadership

Office: SAB 115
Phone: 843-661-1287
pking@fmarion.edu

Travis W. Knowles

Associate Professor of Biology, Director of Wildsumaco Biological Station

Office: MSB 201H
Phone: 843-661-1408
tknowles@fmarion.edu

Dr. Gerald W. Long

Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Forest Resources Cooperative Program

Office: LSF 204A
Phone: 843-661-1389
glong@fmarion.edu

Dr. Jennifer K. Lyles

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 201E
Phone: 843-661-1401
jlyles@fmarion.edu

Dr. David M. Malakauskas

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 301C
Phone: 843-661-1481
dmalakauskas@fmarion.edu

Sarah Malakauskas

Laboratory Coordinator

Office: MSB 201F
Phone: 843-661-1661
smalakauskas@fmarion.edu

Lisa A. Pike

Associate Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204D
Phone: 843-661-1411
lpike@fmarion.edu

Dr. Greg S. Pryor

Professor of Biology, Co-coordinator of Medical Technology Option

Office: MSB 301D
Phone: 843-661-1403
gpryor@fmarion.edu

Dr. Jeremy D. Rentsch

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204I
Phone: 843-661-1407
jrentsch@fmarion.edu

Dr. Norma J. Salcedo

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204J
Phone: 843-661-1566
nsalcedo@fmarion.edu

Dr. Timothy E. Shannon

Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204H
Phone: 843-661-4652
tshannon@fmarion.edu

Dr. J. Henry Slone

Professor of Biology

Office: LSF 204B
Phone: 843-661-1406
jslone@fmarion.edu

Dr. Jeffrey A. Steinmetz

Associate Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Environmental Science Option

Office: MSB 201A
Phone: 843-661-1404
jsteinmetz@fmarion.edu

Dr. Ann M. Stoeckmann

Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Biology Secondary Education Option

Office: LSF 204C
Phone: 843-661-1388
astoeckmann@fmarion.edu

Dr. Lorianne S. Turner

Associate Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Physical/Occupational Therapy Program, Co-coordinator of Medical Technology Option

Office: MSB 201C
Phone: 843-661-1670
lturner@fmarion.edu

Dr. Shayna A. Wrighten

Assistant Professor of Biology, Coordinator of Pre-Dental Program

Office: MSB 301A
Phone: 843-661-1383
swrighten@fmarion.edu

Dr. Paul B. Zwiers

Assistant Professor of Biology

Office: MSB 201D
Phone: 843-661-1654
pzwiers@fmarion.edu

Part-Time Faculty and Staff

Hope Camper

Part-Time Instructor of Biology

Office: MSB 301I
Phone: 843-661-1382
hcamper@fmarion.edu

Dr. Sylvia Hewitt

Part-time Lecturer in Biology

Office: MSB 218
Phone: 843-661-1382
shewitt@fmarion.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Dr. Lynn M. Croshaw

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1970-2000  

Dr. Julia E. Krebs

Part-Time Lecturer in Biology, Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Office: MSB 209B
Phone: 843-661-1402
jkrebs@fmarion.edu

Dr. Larry J. McCumber

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1982-2015  

Dr. John G. Rae, III

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1988-2013  

Dr. Tom Roop

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1972-2004  

Dr. David J. Stroup

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1987-2015  

Dr. Larry F. Swails

Emeritus Faculty of Biology

Years at FMU: 1974-1990