University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



39 students to participate in S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at FMU

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Thirty-three South Carolina and North Carolina high school seniors and six juniors will participate in the first S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at Francis Marion University, Feb. 22-24.

    The program will focus on nuclear physics, astronomy, laser physics, and computational physics. Students will be introduced to the methods of thought and understanding that are used in physics and astronomy. They will perform experiments, analyze data, and be encouraged to make sense of their observations in a scientific manner.

    Numerous academic and social activities are also planned. The event will kick off with a welcoming reception that will be hosted by the faculty and students of the FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy. The core academic experience of the institute will be participation in 14 advanced experiments in physics and astronomy. Participants will receive tours of FMU’s signature laboratories, and there will be group activities in the FMU observatory and Dooley Planetarium.

    All participants were nominated by their high school physics teachers, and have demonstrated aptitude in science and mathematics.

    “The FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy is pleased to host some of the state’s brightest high school juniors and seniors for this event,” said David Peterson, FMU physics professor and director of the institute. “These outstanding students will have a great opportunity to learn more about all areas of physics through a variety of experiments and other academic activities.”

    Participants in the S.C. Physics Scholars Institute, by hometown, are:

Bluffton: Rachael Bedosky, Bluffton High

Camden: Ashley Kuzbary, Thomas Sumter Academy

Charleston: Sean Monahan, Cathedral Academy

Columbia: Khadijah Hulwe, Richland Northeast; Sowjanya Kadali, Richland Northeast; Alanna Murday, Dreher High

Cope: Katie Woodward, Edisto High

Easley: Ryan Finlen, Wren High
Enoree: Jesse Hanley, Woodruff Sr. High

Fayetteville, N.C.: Eric Samperton, Pine Forest High

Florence: Eric Fulmer, Florence Christian; Mike Kucek, West Florence High; Pratik Patel, West Florence High

Gaffney: Silas Copeland, Gaffney High

Greer: Will Guzick, Christ Church Episcopal; Nate Kutob, Christ Church Episcopal

Hartsville: Madonna Sberna, Hartsville High

Hope Mills, N.C.: William Gates, Jr., South View High; Sathyaprya Mandjiny, South View High

Kershaw: Chris Farrell, North Central High
Leesville: Zack Burgess, Batesburg-Leesville

Loris: Thomas Bitner, Loris High; Loris Zack SeJan, Loris High

Marion: Zack Hester, Pee Dee Academy

Mt. Pleasant: Christina May, Wando High

Moore: Alison Monahan, Woodruff Senior High

Mullins: Kris Rogers, Pee Dee Academy

Myrtle Beach: Charles Smith, Myrtle Beach High

Nichols: Matthew Ray, Aynor High
Pacolet: Jonathan Motts, Gaffney High
Ridgeland: Kris Fowlkes, Jasper County High

Simpsonville: Elizabeth Tumblin, Hillcrest High; Ryan Poole, Hillcrest High

Spartanburg: Taylor Shoulders, Spartanburg High

Summerville: Jordan Jones, Summerville High; Cody Weidenthaler, Summerville High

Taylors: James Willett, III, South Greer High

Williamston: Chad Davis, Palmetto High; Sarah Franco, Palmetto High

#118 / 2-23-07
Last Published: February 28, 2007 2:02 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from