Public Affairs Office
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU presents academic awards

           FLORENCE, S.C. – Francis Marion University presented academic awards to outstanding students during a ceremony Monday, April 16, in the McNair Science Building auditorium on campus.

            Individual awards were given to students judged to have the most promise of success in their respective academic programs.

          Benjamin Woods, professor of music and the university’s 2005-2006 Distinguished Professor, addressed the students before the presentations. 


FMU Academic Awards Day Recipients

South Carolina
Cheraw: Ashley Nicole Rivers, Freshman Writing Award; John Robert Smith, Physics Award; Jennifer Dawn Quick, Political Science Award

Chesterfield: Bryan McIver Eddins, Engineering Technology Award

Clio: Anthony Blake Lowery, Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award, Financial Executive Institute Medallion Award

Darlington: Amber Gayal Ellis, President’s Undergraduate Research Award, Health Physics Award; Patricia Dawn Williams, Freshman Chemistry Award; Erin Elizabeth Lamz, Percy Adams Award; Ashley Hope Floyd, Linda M. Summer Social Work Award

Dillon: Tiffany Dominique Gibson, Honors Student Association (HSA) Award

Florence: Joshua Kevan Croteau, President’s Undergraduate Research Award, Katherine S. Boling Memorial Award in Fiction, Mathematics Award; Callie Norris, Duane P. Myers Honors Award, Scholastic Achievement Award, Biology Award; Ashley Lynn Spigner, Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship Candidate Award; Taylor Brooks Poston, Biology Research Award; Dean Clay Lundy, Chemistry Award; Kristen Leigh Steen, Psychology Award,Drama Award; Meredith Kormendy Fields, Robert R. Parham Poetry Award, Peggy Love McLaughlin Art Award; Emile Claire Le Goff, Modern Language Award; William Grey Raines, History Award; Lindsay Elaine Reilly, Mass Communication Award; Lindsey Kathryn Springs, Mathematics Award; Ellen Elizabeth Dyer, Dr. Jesse A. Coles Jr. Award; Elizabeth Pulver Howell, Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology; Kristen Williams Lundy, L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Award; Jessica Bennett Graves, Sociology Award; Robin Marie Bitzky, Wall Street Journal Award in Finance,Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award; Maria Julia Bozzi, General Business Administration Award; Patrick Dean Hopewell, Management Information Systems Award; Heidi Danyelle Stalheim, Marketing Award; Tabitha Renee Bellflowers, Accounting Award

Hartsville: Preston Ross Johnson, Economics Award

Hemingway: Amy Lauren Scott, Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award

Johnsonville: Magan Alicia Bishop, Duane P. Myers Honors Award, Scholastic Achievement Award;James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education

Ladson: Michael Eric Kempson, Political Science Award

Lancaster: Lauren Nicole Tucker, Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award


Lake City: Diana Issa Rishmawi, Analytical Chemistry Award; Winniford Alwood Simmons, Robert R. Parham Poetry Award; Aleisha Allison Ainsworth, Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education


Lake View: Davis Ace Cox, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award; Ashley Nicole Miller, American Institute of Chemists Foundation (AICF) Student Award

Latta: Rachel M. Corbett, Secondary Education Award
New Zion: Daniel Lavender Harrington, Mathematics Award
Nichols: Jeremy S. Lewis, Computer Science Award

Pamplico: Kelly Michelle Songwinds, Accounting Award, Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key Award

Summerville: Rachel Teresa McGrew, Management Award

Sumter: Sarah Ann Carpenter, Honors Student Association (HSA) Award, English Award; Sarah Martine Benak, Nursing Award; Ora Lee Jenkins, Neal D. Thigpen Award in South Carolina Politics and Government

Wallace: Krissy Lynn Smith, Organic Chemistry Award
Carrollton, Ga.: Jenna Lee Sexton, Health Physics Award

Oxen Hill, Md.: Moises Ariel Ortiz-Giron, Jack Baker Memorial Award, Donna H. Goodman Community Service Award


Avon Lake, Ohio: Megan Colleen Coy, Ars Medica Academic Achievement Award

#169 / 4-16-07
Last Published: April 17, 2007 1:22 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from