University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Tobias Wolff, Sharyn McCrumb, Naomi Shihab Nye and Terrance Hayes to Headline 2007 Pee Dee Fiction Festival at Francis Marion University

     The Second Annual Pee Dee Fiction and Poetry Festival to celebrate and promote literature and reading is set for Nov. 8-10 at Francis Marion University.

     The festival, which features renowned authors Tobias Wolff, Sharyn McCrumb, Naomi Shihab Nye and Terrance Hayes, will include readings, lectures and panel discussions with programs for all ages. A number of fiction topics will be covered, including personal narratives, Haiku, comics and graphic novels. 

     Organization of the festival is being led by FMU English Professor Ed Eleazer along with a committee consisting of the following faculty members from the English Department: Ken Autrey, Jo Angela Edwins, Heather Epes, Rebecca Flannagan, Kristin Gravitte, Lynn Kostoff, Laura Morris, Rebecca Randall, Pamela Rooks and Shawn Smolen-Morton.

     Two screenings of the film “This Boy’s Life,” based on the best-selling novel of Wolff’s book of the same name, will be shown. His book recounts the story of his early childhood years in the Northwest and was the basis for the 1993 motion picture starring Robert DeNiro and Leonardo DiCaprio.

     Widely regarded as a classic tale of American boyhood, the memoir received the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography, and the Ambassador Book Award of the English-speaking Union. Born in 1945 in Alabama, Wolff has been regarded as the master of memoir and short stories. A three-time winner of the O. Henry Award, Wolff is celebrated for his collections of short stories, novels, and memoirs.

     The 2007 Pee Dee Fiction Festival also features McCrumb who is a New York Times bestselling author. Her work has been cited for "Outstanding Contribution to Appalachian Literature." She has received the Chaffin and Plattner Awards for Southern fiction, two Best Appalachian Novel awards, and many other honors. She launched her acclaimed Appalachian Ballad novel series with “If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O.”

     Nye, another featured author, gives voice to her experience as an Arab-American through poems about heritage and peace that overflow with a humanitarian spirit. Nye is the author of numerous books of poems, including You and Yours, which received the Isabella Gardner Poetry Award, as well as 19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East, a collection of new and selected poems about the Middle East, Fuel, Red Suitcase, and Hugging the Jukebox.

     Hayes is the author of Wind in a Box, Hip Logic, which won National Poetry Series, and Muscular Music, winner of the Kate Tufts Discovery Award. He has been a recipient of many honors and awards, including a Whiting Writers Award, a Pushcart Prize, a Best American Poetry selection, and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship.

      For more information on the Pee Dee Fiction Festival, contact the Department of English at 843-661-1371 or visit the festival’s website at

#43 / 9-28-07
Last Published: September 28, 2007 1:04 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from