University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Pee Dee Federal Savings Bank establishes scholarship at FMU

            FLORENCE, S.C. – Pee Dee Federal Savings Bank in Marion has established a scholarship at Francis Marion University in honor of Raphael Wolpert.

            The Dr. Raphael Wolpert Scholarship has been established to pay tribute to Wolpert who has served on the Pee Dee Federal Savings Bank board for nearly 37 years and as chairman since 1998.

            “We are pleased to pay tribute to the service of Dr. Wolpert by supporting education at Francis Marion. We feel the university has done a tremendous amount for the Pee Dee area just as he has,” said William Johnson, CEO of Pee Dee Federal Savings Bank.

            The recipient of the scholarship must be a resident of Marion. Preference will be given to an incoming freshman with a score of 1000 or above on the SAT. An upperclassman must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

          “Bill Johnson and the Pee Dee Federal Board have been friends of this university for decades and their support is vitally important to us” said FMU president Fred Carter. “This generous gift will enable deserving students from Marion to remain in the Pee Dee to pursue their higher education.”

            Pee Dee Federal Savings Bank established two other scholarships at FMU. The James C. Hooks Jr. Memorial Scholarship was established in February 2001 to honor Hooks, who served as chairman of the board. The Malcolm C. Woods Jr. Scholarship was established in May 1987 to honor Woods, former president and director of the bank.

#131 / 2-12-08
Last Published: February 12, 2008 4:02 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from