University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Twenty-eight students to participate in S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at FMU

    FLORENCE, S.C. – Twenty-eight South Carolina and North Carolina high schoolers will participate in the second annual S.C. Physics Scholars Institute at Francis Marion University, Feb. 21-23.

    The program will focus on nuclear physics, astronomy, laser physics and computational physics. Students will be introduced to the methods of thought and understanding that are used in physics and astronomy. They will perform experiments, analyze data and be encouraged to make sense of their observations in a scientific manner.

    Numerous academic and social activities are also planned. The event will kick off with a welcoming reception that will be hosted by the faculty and students of the FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy. The core academic experience of the institute will be participation in advanced experiments in physics and astronomy. Participants will receive tours of FMU’s signature laboratories, and there will be group activities in the FMU observatory.

    All participants were nominated by their high school physics teachers, and have demonstrated aptitude in science and mathematics.

    “The FMU Department of Physics and Astronomy is pleased to host some of the state’s brightest high school juniors and seniors for this event,” said David Peterson, chair of the FMU physics and astronomy department and director of the institute. “These outstanding students will have a great opportunity to learn more about all areas of physics through a variety of experiments and other academic activities.”

    Participants in the S.C. Physics Scholars Institute, by hometown, are:

Anderson: Drew Hogg, Mark Manganello and Justin Rowland, T.L. Hanna High

 Charleston: Sean Monahan, Cathedral Academy
Columbia: Chazz Sims, Ben Lippen High

Darlington: Dave Cohen and Kenny Winburn, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology 

Effingham: Jessica Perkins, Christian Assembly

Florence: Kasey Bradley, Home School; Eric Fulmer, Florence Christian; Hunter Summersett, West Florence High; Sheng Zheng, South Florence High

Fort Mill: Eddie Szeman, Fort Mill Independent

Hartsville: Josh Tripp, Hartsville High 

Hemingway: Brian Owens, Carvers Bay High

Hopkins: Taylor Smith, Hammond Academy

Liberty: Ryan Rahn, Pickens High
Moncks Corner: Frank New, Timberland High
Moore: Jefferson Whisenant, Spartanburg Day School

North Augusta: Nathan Towles, North Augusta High

North Charleston: Morgan Alber, Cathedral Academy

Orangeburg: Bashir Hamidi, Orangeburg-Wilkinson High

Rock Hill: Collin Smith, Palmetto Home School

Simpsonville: Zach Wilson, Palmetto High
Spartanburg: William Weir, Spartanburg High

Williamston: Aaron Leonard, Palmetto High

Fayetteville: Jessica Glatz, Terry Sanford High

Parkton: Kevin Barkett, South View High


#126 / 2-12-08
Last Published: February 13, 2008 1:31 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from