University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU presents academic awards

            FLORENCE, S.C. – Francis Marion University presented academic awards to outstanding students during a ceremony Monday, April 14, in the McNair Science Building’s Chapman auditorium on campus.

            Individual awards were given to students judged to have the most promise of success in their respective academic programs. 

            Pamela A. Rooks, professor of English and director of the Honors Program and the university’s 2006-2007 J. Lorin Mason Distinguished Professor, addressed the students before the presentations.


FMU Academic Awards Day Recipients

South Carolina

Aynor: Kimberly Norene Best, Scholastic Achievement Award, Percy Adams Award 

Camden: Tiffany Sheri Moore, Peggy Love McLaughlin Art Award

Columbia: William Charles McNamara, Honors Student Association Award; Gabrielle Ann Bush, Nursing Award

Darlington: Christopher Wilson Coker, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award

Effingham: Mary Elizabeth Waddell, Dr. Jesse A. Coles, Jr. Award 

Florence: Timothy Joseph Busscher, Katharine S. Boling Memorial Award in Fiction; Jamie Marie Cordova, Neal D. Thigpen Award in S.C. Politics and Government; Ellen Elizabeth Dyer, Political Science Award; Elizabeth Jane Ford, Freshman Chemistry Award; Angela Marie Hardee, Accounting Award; Lindsey Nicole Harte, Organic Chemistry Award; Sarah Marie Hickman, Analytical Chemistry Award; Ross Sterling Hill, Scholastic Achievement Award, History Award; Kirsten Marie Hiortdahl, Biology Research Award; William Moore Kirkland, L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Award; Jennifer Ludwig, General Business Administration Award; Natalie Smith Mahaffey, English Award; Laura Lou Cecel Matthews, Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology; James Michael McLellan, Physics Award; Melissa Sue Merchant, Sociology Award; Rebecca McMillan Patterson, Financial Executive Institute Medallion Award; Christie Anne Putnam, English Award; Lindsay Elaine Reilly, Duane P. Myers Honors Award, Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship Candidate Award, Modern Language Award, Mass Communication Award, Scholastic Achievement Award; Kathryn Noel Rosa, Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award; Angela Dawn Sawyer, Marketing Award, Wall Street Journal Award in Finance; Lindsey Kathryn Springs, Scholastic Achievement Award, Mathematics Award, Secondary Education Award; David Seth Staggs, Psychology Award; Joshua Irvin Stalheim, Freshman Writing Award; Melissa Kathleen Turner, Robert R. Parham Poetry Award

Harleyville: Jessica Leigh Darden, Management Award

Hartsville: Kristine Schaefer Thompson, James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education

Johnsonville: Jessica Lynn Wall, Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award

Ladson: David Andrew Wagoner, Health Physics Award

Lake City: Diana Issa Rishmawi, Chemistry Award; Bradlee Keith Shown, Computer Science Award

Little River: Shamira Ronique Crawford, Jack Baker Memorial Award

McColl: Patrick Richard Buckingham, Mathematics Award 

Nesmith: Tara Celeste Eaddy, American Chemical Society Outstanding Undergraduate Chemistry Major Award 

New Zion: Shelley Knowlton Floyd, Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education

Ruby: Dana Roxann Gulledge, President’s Undergraduate Research Award

Scranton: Nancy Devon Coward, Donna H. Goodman Community Service Award; LaTonya Denise Cushman, Linda M. Summer Social Work Award; Andrew Donald McCutcheon, Engineering Technology Award

Society Hill: Crystal Leigh Bryant, Management Information Systems Award

Summerton: Nathan Scott Poston, Political Science Award

Summerville: Hope Diandra Simpson, ARS Medica Academic Achievement Award

Sumter: Danielle Marie Kusserow, Biology Award


Johannesburg, South Africa: James Scott MacLachlan, Economics Award

#167 /4-14-08

Last Published: April 15, 2008 10:13 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from