University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU names YESCarolina Entrepreneurship elementary school winners

FLORENCE – Three local elementary school students were named winners of a YESCarolina Entrepreneurship School competition held this summer at Francis Marion University. 

Rising seventh-graders Sharia Warren (first place) and Louis Rush (third place) of Henry Timrod Elementary School, and Neva Tanner (third place) of Wallace Gregg Elementary School, were the winners of the three-week enrichment program aimed at teaching students how to start and operate a business. Each student received a cash prize for participating in the program. 

Co-sponsored by YESCarolina and the FMU Donald E. Kelley Small Business Institute (SBI), the summer program was held from June 9-23.

Brianna Zhang, a certified entrepreneurship teacher and administrative associate of SBI, and Brenda Savage, the 2006 Entrepreneurship Teacher of the Year, taught the program.

Zhang is an instructor and coordinator for an after-school entrepreneurship program at Wilson High School and recently earned an MBA from FMU. 

YESCarolina is the program partner for the National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship (NFTE) in South Carolina. YESCarolina is a nonprofit organization created to offer South Carolina educators the opportunity to utilize curriculum written by acclaimed business teacher Steve Mariotti, founder of NFTE. Through entrepreneurship education, YESCarolina helps young people from communities statewide build skills and unlock their entrepreneurial creativity.

From 2003 to 2008, YESCarolina has trained 380 NFTE Certified Entrepreneurship Teachers that have in turn touched thousands of young South Carolinians with innovative entrepreneurship curriculum.


YESCarolina Entrepreneurship School participants:

Henry Timrod Elementary
Jerome Moses, Jr.
Brendaca Rogers
Louis Rush - 3rd place winner
Sharia Warren - 1st place winner


Theodore Lester Elementary
Adrieanna Bacote
Tianna Eldridge 
Dayquan Ellis
Shaquita Parker

Wallace Gregg Elementary
Kendris Brown
Khiarra Miles
Latia Singleton
Neva Tanner - 2nd place winner
Nathan Thomas

  #207/ 6-30-08

Last Published: July 3, 2008 12:13 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from