University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Davis,-Carter-&-Richardson Staff Award
Davis, Richardson Named FMU's 2008 Outstanding Employees

     FLORENCE---Kimberly G. Davis and David B. Richardson, both of Marion, have been named outstanding staff employees of the year at Francis Marion University. 

     The awards were presented July 30 during the staff awards luncheon, which also honored FMU employees for length of state service. 

     Davis is assistant director of institutional research and human resource assistant and Richardson is a craftsman supervisor for building maintenance. 

     Davis has been employed at FMU for 22 years and Richardson for 19 years. They both were cited for their dedication to their jobs and for service above and beyond the call of duty. FMU President Fred Carter presented Davis and Richardson with plaques and $1,000 checks in recognition of winning this annual award for FMU employees. Rep. Lester P. Branham Jr. was the guest speaker. 

    L. Allen Eaddy of Florence, senior lead custodian; Brenda M. Hill of Florence, administrative assistant for the Center of Excellence; Otis Nichols of Darlington, craftsman for building maintenance; and Diane Scarborough, lab manager in the Department of Biology, were cited for 30 years of state service.   

    Employees honored for 20 years of service include: Mary L. Batson of Marion, coordinator of classification, compensation and employment; Christal C. Bazen of Johnsonville, director of financial services and student accounts;  Angela C. Cantey of Mullins, administrative assistant for biology; JoRetha L. Evans of Florence, senior administrative assistant for athletics; Elizabeth l. Gould of Florence, director of human resources services; Yulaundra F. Heyward of Florence, assistant director of the counseling and testing center; Quincy Jupiter of Florence, dining services aide; David S. Robinson of Mullins, supervisor of residence buildings/housing maintenance; Linda R. Singleton, custodian; Nancy Wright of Florence, administrative manager of public affairs. 

    Employees recognized for 10 years of service were: Darryl L. Bridges of Florence, vice president for student affairs; Tamara M. Gardner, administrative associate in the physical plant; Alvin L. Jackson of Lake City, estate groundskeeper; and Angela L. Payton of Florence, publications editor in Office Services.

    Nine employees who are retiring from FMU were also recognized— Julie J. Bush, associate provost for enrollment management; Phyllis R. Driggers of Darlington, senior administrative assistant for political science and geography; Myra M. Hall of Mullins, coordinator of classification, compensation and employment; Lula M. Hayden of Florence, lead custodian; Terry H. Hunt of Florence, senior administrative associate of telecommunications and payroll; Nancy A. Jeffords of Florence, system support technician in the library; Robert E. Merritt of Florence, university attorney; Hannah D. Platt of Dillon, custodian; Lela B. Windham of Timmonsville, custodian.

#1 / 7-30-08

Last Published: August 20, 2008 1:57 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from