University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Volleyball & basketball athletes named to FMU Athletic Hall of Fame

FLORENCE, S.C. - Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced that former women’s volleyball and basketball player Jennifer Grande Parker and former men’s basketball player Daryl Blume are the newest inductees into the FMU Athletic Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony took place during Homecoming activities on March 1 in the Smith University Center gymnasium between the women’s and men's games of the FMU and Clayton State University basketball doubleheader.

A native of Des Plaines, Ill., Grande Parker played four years of volleyball (1993-96) and one year of basketball (1993-1994). She was a member of FMU’s chapter of Psi Chi Honor Society and was named to the 2005 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll. She earned the B. S. Psychology degree in 1997 and the M.A.T. in 2000, and later received the M.Ed. from the State University of West Georgia.

She now resides in Charleston with her husband and two children.

She ended her volleyball career as FMU’s all-time leader in kills (1,523), aces (279), and digs (1,568), while owning eight Peach Belt Conference records. At the time, she became only the third three-time All-Conference selection in Peach Belt volleyball history, and in her senior year helped the Patriots go “worst-to-first,” winning the 1996 Peach Belt title.

She twice set the Peach Belt single-season record for service aces (93 in 1994 and then 105 in 1995), and was twice named the Peach Belt Player of the Week. She was twice named FMU’s most valuable player, and later returned to the court as a Patriot assistant coach for the 1998 and 1999 seasons.

Blume, a native of Louisville, Ky., played on the Francis Marion basketball team from 1976 to 1980. A three-time NAIA District Six All-Academic Team selection and a member of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) honor society, he earned the B. S. in chemistry in 1980, and went on to later receive an M.B.A. degree from University of South Florida in 1984. 

On the basketball court, the 6-1 guard compiled career totals of 1,011 points, 282 rebounds, and 234 assists (against only 222 turnovers) in 114 career games. His career field goal percentage from the guard spot was a sparkling 51.8 percent. He ended his career third on the Patriot career scoring list and first in career assists. As a freshman, he was named the team’s most valuable player. In 1977-78, he played on the first-ever winning men’s basketball team at Francis Marion, and eventually helped the program to its first three NAIA District Six Tournament berths. Later, he was named to the Francis Marion 1970’s All-Decade Team for men’s basketball.

A current resident of Pinellas Park, Fla., he is currently president of BCH Mechanical Inc. He is also serving as the middle school boys’ basketball head coach at Shorecrest Preparatory School.

He is a member of the Associated Builders & Contractors (ABC) / Board of Directors and served as the 1997 president of the Associated Builders & Contractors Gulf Coast Chapter (ABC). He is a graduate of the Class of 2004 for Leadership Tampa Bay and was named the 1999 Entrepreneur of the Year by USF. He owns a State of Florida, Class A, Air Conditioning license and is a member of the Associated Builders & Contractors Beam Club Hall of Fame.

Grande Parker and Blume join 31 current members in the FMU Athletic Hall of Fame, which was formed in 1991. Past inductees include Chiffonia “Precious” Adderson (women’s basketball), Cindy Alford (women’s softball), Jeannette Alston (women’s basketball, volleyball), Kristi Anderson (women’s softball), Mark Bedenbaugh (cross country, track and field), Gary Bennett (golf), Jennifer Brabson (women’s basketball), Maria Costas (women’s basketball, tennis, volleyball), Tom C. Davidson (coach and administrator), Carlton Farr (men’s basketball), LaRue Fields (women’s basketball, volleyball), Alvaro Figuerola (men’s soccer), Allen Floyd (men’s basketball), Jeremy Halpin (baseball), Sylvia Rhyne Hatchell (women’s basketball coach), Lewis Hill (men’s basketball coach), Mary Hirst (women’s tennis), Wayne Huggins (baseball), Scotty Keefe (baseball), Sam Lundkvist (men’s tennis),Pearl Moore (women’s basketball), Robert Moore (men’s basketball), Krissy Burt Owens (women’s volleyball), Mitch Powell (track and field, cross country), Tommy Randall (golf), David Stafford (track and field, cross country), Garth Thomson (men’s tennis player and coach), Randy White (track and field, cross country), Mike Wilson (baseball), Lee Whitwell (women’s tennis), and Rendy Yates (women’s softball player and coach).

Last Published: March 3, 2008 4:11 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from