University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU graduates second student leadership class


FLORENCE – Francis Marion University’s Leadership FMU program recently held its second graduation to recognize and celebrate student leadership. 

University administration, staff, students and others gathered as some of FMU’s student leaders were given certificates of completion for the program. The keynote speaker for the event was Jay Dowd, vice-president for development and executive director of the FMU Foundation. 

The purpose of the program is to enhance the leadership skills of FMU students by providing programs and services designed to increase knowledge of community development, ethical standards, professional and career development and civic responsibility. 

Leadership FMU is a programmatic function of the Division of Student Affairs. An administrative board and the Leadership Advisory Board, is charged with the development of a series of programs and services for FMU students. The Leadership Advisory Board (LAB) is composed of faculty, students and staff who have an interest in enhancing leadership opportunities for students. Members of the LAB are selected by the Dean of Students and represent the university community.

For additional information about the program, contact FMU’s Dean of Students Teresa Ramey at (843) 661-1182 or by email at


               Among the graduates were (by hometown):

Anderson: Ashley McAuley (Biology)

Aynor: Hope Wofford (Management)

Charleston: Erica De’Jesus (Psychology)

Chesterfield: Rhoda Ellison (Pre-med Biology)

Clover: Tonya Lawrence (Psychology)

Columbia: Chasity Golden (Biology); Shayla Williams (Elementary Education)

Florence: Joshua Colvin (Physics); Brittany Nance (English); Austin Smetana (Sociology)

Great Falls: Amanda Morales (Middle Level Education)

Hemingway: Shaina Williams (Sociology)

Kingstree: Kevin Cooper (Finance)

Little River: Marcus Scott (Mass Communications)

Moore: Alison Monahan (Computational Physics)

Pickens: Ravin Lilliston (Marketing)

London, Ontario: Stevie Arrand (Early Childhood Education)

Tampa, Fla.: Asha Pinckney (Biology)


Last Published: April 24, 2009 10:43 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from