University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU presents academic awards


               FLORENCE, S.C. – Francis Marion University presented academic awards to outstanding students during a ceremony recently in the McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium on campus. 

               Individual awards were given to students judged to have the most promise of success in their respective academic programs. 

               Glen Gourley, professor of theatre arts and speech, the Peter D. Hyman Professor of Fine Arts and 2007-08 J. Lorin Mason Distinguished Professor for the Year, addressed the students before the presentations.


FMU Academic Awards Day Recipients

South Carolina

Cheraw: Ashley Nicole Rivers, Percy Adams Award, Robert R. Parham Poetry Award

Columbia: Emily Anne Brandenburg, Dr. Jesse A. Coles Jr. Award

Cordova: Alyssa Kathryn Polson, Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship Candidate Award, Biology Award

Darlington: Rebecca Danielle Koontz, Katharine S. Boling Memorial Award in Fiction, Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award; Lucas Marion Oates, Neal D. Thigpen Award in South Carolina Politics and Government, Political Science Award; Allison Paige Weaver, President’s Undergraduate Research Award

Effingham: Mary Elizabeth Waddell, Political Science Award, Scholastic Achievement Award

Florence: Shawn Sphere Ballenger, Physics Award; Neil Jennings Bigham, Engineering Technology Award; Neil Jennings Bigham, Engineering Technology Award; Kimberly Jean Bruce, Freshman Chemistry Award; Jeremy Patrick Capps, Physics Award; Robert Edward Clemons, Computer Science Award; Shannon Elizabeth Emery, Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology; Elizabeth Jane Ford, Analytical Chemistry Award; Sarah Marie Hickman, S.C. Section of the American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Major Award; Jeremiah Augustine Hughes, Management Information Systems Award; Jessica Dean Humphrey, English Award; Angela Christine Jackson, Donna H. Goodman Community Service Award; Ashley Elizabeth Leamon, Drama Award, Theatre Arts Award; Jamie Lee Lehr, James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education; Corrine Lee Loughrey, Linda M. Summer Social Work Award; Amanda Doris Martin, Wall Street Journal Award in Finance; Matthew Christopher Maynard, L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Award; Sarah Amanda Pierce, Financial Executive Institute Medallion Award; Danagene Donna Razick, Modern Language Award; Jamie Lee Rogers, Modern Language Award; Jennifer Kaye Smith, Biology Research Award; Harrison Breedlove Taylor, Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award; Fotino Tommy Vlahos, Sociology Award; Patricia Dawn Williams, Nursing Award

Georgetown: Shardae Regina Nelson, Marketing Award

Hamer: Krista Carnell Jackson, Peggy Love McLaughlin Art Award

Johnsonville: Megan Emily Sanders, Scholastic Achievement Award; Jessica Lynn Wall, Duane P. Myers Honors Award, Scholastic Achievement Award

Kingstree: Cynthia Nicole Johnson, Honors Student Association Award

Lake View: David Ace Cox, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award

Lancaster: Lauren Nicole Tucker, Biology Award

Latta: Jerry Leroy Phillips, III, Mathematics Award

Laurens: Samantha Lauren Penland, Health Physics Award

Marion: Daniel Alexander James, Freshman Writing Award

Mullins: Curtis Owen Jacobs, Accounting Award

Nesmith: Brittany Elaine Cooper, Lewis E. Beasley Americanism Award

Nichols: Stephanie Hobbs Powers, Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education

Rock Hill: Sarah Mignon Breaux, Political Science Award, History Award

Scranton: Kevin Andrew Floyd, Organic Chemistry Award

Summerton: Courtney Lashauna Canty, Ars Medica Academic Achievement Award

Timmonsville: Karmella Fullard, Chemistry Award

Wallace: Ryan Adam Melton, Duane P. Myers Honors Award, Management Award, Scholastic Achievement Award



Hillsdale, Mich: Shannon Elizabeth Emery, Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology

Amsterdam, Ohio: Lakyn Marie Bendle, Psychology Award

Massillon, Ohio: Jessica Marie Lombardi, Secondary Education Award, Jack Baker Memorial Award

Poland, Ohio: John Patrick Sweeney, Mass Communication Award


Last Published: May 1, 2009 1:09 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from