University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute graduates seventh class


               FLORENCE, S.C. – Thirty-one South Carolina residents participated in commencement exercises for the seventh class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, April 24.   

               Remarks were given by FMU President Fred Carter. Institute participants were each presented with a certificate.  

               The institute is a seven-month training program for leaders of non-profits. Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.  

               Funded initially with multi-year grants from the Drs. Bruce and Lee Foundation, the institute now receives major support from FMU, along with a grant from the PSARAS Foundation.  

               Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the FMU Non-Profit Leadership Institute. 

               The class will be conducted again during the 2009-2010 academic year. For more information, contact Julian Young, Non-Profit Leadership Institute liaison, at 843-661-1199.

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University

(Organization City: Participant name, Organization

Anderson: Laurie Ashley, Anderson County Meals on Wheels; Carol D. Loyd, United Way of Anderson County; Quenton Tompkins, Partners for a Healthy Community  

Charleston: Sharon Clemmons Dean, Parents Anonymous of South Carolina Inc.; Kathleen Masanotti, Charleston Area Community Development Corp.; Lenore McKenna, Charleston Area Community Development Corp.; Laura Stefanelli, Respite Care Ministries at St. Matthews Lutheran Church

Columbia: Rachel E. Cambre, S.C. Trooper’s Association; Nan Binnarr Carter, Palmetto Health Foundation; Felicia Sullivan Easterlin, Cardinal Newman School; Kathy Hill, United Way of the Midlands; Marga McKee, Interfaith Community Services of S.C.; Theresa J. Wallace, The Humanities Council  

Darlington: Patricia Shepard, Caring Hearts of the Pee Dee 

Florence: G. Kathy Andrews, Francis Marion University; Michelle Bailey, Health Facilities Federal Credit Union; Aubrey B. Carroll, Friends of the Florence County Library; Joyce G. Ford, The Naomi Project Inc.; Cecily Lilly, Junior League of Florence; Margaret Love, Florence Habitat for Humanity; Anita L. Throwe, The Care House 

Fort Mill: JoAnna DiPastena, WARP Robotics  

Georgetown: Jesse M. Walker, Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments 

Kingstree: Clara Faye Dozier, Williamsburg County Disabilities & Special Needs Board 

Marion: Charles M. Wiegert, The Historic Marion Revitalization Association

Myrtle Beach: Amy Gary, Autism Advocate Foundation; Kathy Heustess, The Coastal Samaritan Counseling Center Inc.; Laura Suprano, Habitat for Humanity of Horry County  

North Charleston: Patricia E. Buckley, Non-Profit Trainer/Consultant  

Ridgeland: Letisha N. Scotland, The ACCESS Network, Greater Faith International Ministries  

Seneca: Alena Pelfrey, Collins Children’s Home & Family Ministry


Last Published: June 3, 2009 11:12 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from