University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU names YESCarolina Entrepreneurship high school winners


FLORENCE – Three local high school students were named winners of a YESCarolina Entrepreneurship School competition held this summer at Francis Marion University.  

The rising tenth-graders Zachary Powell of South Florence High School (first place), Roy Watts of West Florence High School (second place) and Bryon Smalls of Wilson High School (third place), were among the winners of the three-week enrichment program aimed at teaching students how to start and operate a business. Each student received a cash prize for participating in the program. 

The summer program was co-sponsored by YESCarolina and the FMU Donald E. Kelley Small Business Institute (SBI). 

Brianna Zhang, manager of SBI and certified entrepreneurship teacher, taught the program. 

Zhang is an instructor and coordinator for an after-school entrepreneurship program at Wilson High School and recently earned an MBA from FMU.  

Judges for the program were Barbara Kennedy, human resource manager at Florence-Darlington Technical College; Robert Pugh, FMU professor of business; and Hubert Setzler, FMU professor of business. 

YESCarolina is the program partner for the National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship (NFTE) in South Carolina. YESCarolina is a nonprofit organization created to offer South Carolina educators the opportunity to utilize curriculum written by acclaimed business teacher Steve Mariotti, founder of NFTE.

Through entrepreneurship education, YESCarolina helps young people from communities statewide build skills and unlock their entrepreneurial creativity. From 2003 to 2008, YESCarolina has trained 380 NFTE Certified Entrepreneurship Teachers who have in turn touched thousands of young South Carolinians with innovative entrepreneurship curricula.

Other YESCarolina Entrepreneurship School participants:


South Florence High School

Desmond Cooper

Tiffany Sanders 

TonDasha Wilson


Wilson High School

Jaqueze Brockington

Alante Douglas


#14/ 8-5-09

Last Published: August 20, 2009 10:01 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from