University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



ScienceSouth joins FMU Non-Profit Consortium


FLORENCE – ScienceSouth, a non-profit educational project dedicated to advancing the public understanding of science and technology, has joined the Francis Marion University Non-Profit Consortium.

The consortium is the central coordinating and support organization for a highly regarded cluster of non-profit organizations sharing common goals and interests of the university.

“ScienceSouth’s mission is to bring first-rate science education to the Pee Dee region through programs for students and professional development for teachers and parents. With Francis Marion’s role as the hub of science and discovery in the Pee Dee region, we felt the collaboration of the institutions was a step in the right direction,” said Jim O’Loughlin, chairman of ScienceSouth's operating board. “I think it’s wonderful that we are coming together and look forward to becoming a part of the consortium.”

As part of the affiliation with FMU, O’Loughlin said ScienceSouth will have access to support services, faculty resources for program development, and quality assessment and expansion in the areas of math, technology and teacher re-certification.

"The University is pleased that we’ve entered into this partnership with ScienceSouth. For the past decade, their staff has worked diligently to deliver a qualitative and sustainable science curriculum across the Pee Dee,” said FMU President Fred Carter. “I would anticipate that our scientific faculty will collaborate with them in expanding and enhancing these outreach efforts."

Carter has appointed FMU Assistant Provost and Director of Graduate Programs Travis Knowles, liaison to ScienceSouth. Knowles is a member of the ScienceSouth operating board.

Established in 2000 by a group of educators and business leaders seeking to address the science and technology education gap, ScienceSouth has worked to advance scientific understanding and increase the competitiveness of future generations. ScienceSouth launched outreach programming in 2003. Since that time, its programs have expanded to include ScienceSouth's Summer Science Challenge Camps, live science shows, and Science on Wheels outreach programs.

On March 28, 2008, ScienceSouth opened its Pavilion at 1511 Freedom Boulevard in Florence. The Pavilion allows tourists and members of the community to take part in hands-on science workshops.

The following organizations are members of FMU’s Non-Profit Consortium:

  • Francis Marion University Educational Foundation: The Francis Marion University Educational Foundation was organized in 1974 to provide a means for soliciting and accepting substantial gifts of money or property in order to build an endowment fund to promote the educational purpose and welfare of FMU. For information, call 843-661-1295.
  • Francis Marion Trail Commission: The Francis Marion Trail Commission works to establish a heritage trail across the Pee Dee and Lowcountry in honor of Gen. Francis Marion of Revolutionary War fame. The first trail of its kind in the Pee Dee will be included in the state’s Trail System.  For information, call 843-661-1847. 
  • North East Strategic Alliance: NESA was formed in 2000 to promote the joint development of the historic Pee Dee and Waccamaw regions of South Carolina. The alliance promotes public and private partnerships in coordinating, planning and sharing resources from Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg counties. For information, call 843-661-4669.
  • Pee Dee Land Trust: The Pee Dee Land Trust is an organization that enables a land owner to voluntarily and permanently protect his or her land for its natural beauty and function, its agricultural productivity and/or its historical significance through donations of land or donations of easements on privately owned land. The trust works in eight counties that border the Great Pee Dee River: Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Marion, Marlboro, and Williamsburg. For information, call 843-661-1135.

# 34/ 10-1-09

Last Published: October 23, 2009 10:14 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from