University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



92 FMU Student-Athletes Named to PBC Presidential Honor Roll

HILTON HEAD, S.C. -- The Peach Belt Conference announced that a record 1,079 student-athletes have been named to the 19th-annual Presidential Honor Roll.

The list includes 92 student-athletes from Francis Marion University. FMU placed student-athletes on the honor roll from all 12 of its sponsored sports.

The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at PBC institutions who had a grade point average of 3.00 or higher, based on a 4.00 scale, for the 2009-10 academic year.   The honor roll is divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars (GPA of 3.00 to 3.24), Bronze Scholars (3.25 to 3.49), Silver Scholars (3.50 to 3.74), and Gold Scholars (3.75 to 4.00).

“I continue to be proud of the way our student-athletes excel both on the playing field and in the classroom,” said FMU director of athletics Murray Hartzler. “This large number represents roughly half of the students who compete annually in intercollegiate athletics at FMU. It also shows how higher education and athletics, or other extracurricular activities, can both succeed working hand-in-hand.”

Among the FMU athletes named to the honor roll were 10 who receive this recognition for the fourth time: men’s soccer player Kyle Clinton (Safety Harbor, FL); women’s cross country runner Amanda Doyle (Laurens, SC); women’s volleyball player Jess O’Leary (St. Louis, MO); women’s soccer players Emily Brandenburg (West Columbia, SC), Rachel Rubin (Charlotte, NC) and Angela Salem (Copley, OH); and women’s softball players Kat Beauvais (Manassas, VA), Jessica Birchmeier (Port Richey, FL), Jamie Holmes (Monroe, WA), and Michaela Wolf (Littleton, CO).

Earlier this year, a record 134 student-athletes at Francis Marion were named to the university’s Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll.

FMU student-athletes named to the 2009-10 PBC Presidential Honor Roll are:

Gold Scholars (3.75 to 4.00 GPA):

Dalton Gress (baseball), Aiken, SC

Alex Lee (baseball), Blythewood, SC

German Reyes (baseball), Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Preston Shuey (baseball), Charlotte, NC

Will Smith (baseball), Columbia, SC

Mindaugas Petreikis (men’s basketball), Siauliai, Lithuania

Sebastian Backlund (golf), Bollebygd, Sweden

Travis Gantt (golf), Greenwood, SC

Amanda Mitchell (women’s volleyball), Farragut, TN

Jess O’Leary (women’s volleyball), St. Louis, MO

Danielle Parker (women’s volleyball), Lockwood, MO

Ivan Juric (men’s soccer), Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Kat Beauvais (women’s softball), Manassas, VA

Olivia Ferguson (women’s softball), Roanoke, VA

Jamie Holmes (women’s softball), Monroe, WA

Cea Knox (women’s softball), Myrtle Beach, SC

Emily Brandenburg (women’s soccer), West Columbia, SC

Elisabeth Dobek (women’s soccer), Sterling Heights, MI

Casey Durham (women’s soccer), Waldorf, MD

Rachel Rubin (women’s soccer, tennis), Charlotte, NC

Angela Salem (women’s soccer), Copley, OH

Karine Augur (women’s tennis), Vendome, France

Sabina Baberadova (women’s tennis), Brno, Czech Republic

Amanda Doyle (women’s cross country), Laurens, SC

Silver Scholars (3.50 to 3.74 GPA):
Josh Biggers (baseball), Southlake, TX
Josh Edgin (baseball), Three Springs, PA
Casey Gebhardt (baseball), Charlotte, NC
Josh Smith (baseball), Pageland, SC
Erik Sommerville (baseball), Charlotte, NC
Elizabeth Drewry (women’s volleyball), Richmond, VA
Caitlin Simpson (women’s volleyball), Scottsdale, AZ
Ashlyn Underhill (women’s volleyball), Easley, SC
Casey Whitehead (women’s volleyball), North Kingstown, RI
Emily Dean (women’s softball), Edmonds, WA
Tristan Faile (women’s softball), Lancaster, SC
Michaela Wolf (women’s softball), Littleton, CO
Margaret Fanning (women’s soccer), Bluffton, SC
Jennifer Dyer (women’s soccer), Wake Forest, NC
Taylor Jenkins (women’s soccer), Frederick, MD
Amanda Hall (women’s soccer), Anchorage, AK
Jitka Gavdunova (women’s tennis), Vejprty, Czech Republic
Kerry Hall (women’s tennis), Westville, Natal
Justin Trigg (men’s cross country), Tega Cay, SC
Holly Todd  (women’s cross country), Loris, SC


Bronze Scholars (3.25 to 3.49 GPA):

Shane Gebhards (baseball), New Berlin, IL

Jarrott Hooks (baseball), Marion, SC

TJ Miller (baseball), Waxhaw, NC
Phillip Mozingo (baseball), Florence, SC
Brandon Purvis (baseball), Harleyville, SC
Andrew Smith (men’s basketball), South Milwaukee, WI
Kristen Dickerson (women’s basketball), Columbia, SC
Nicole Mealing (women’s basketball), North Augusta, SC
Kelsie Deaton (women’s volleyball), Martinsville, IN
Hallie Legg (women’s volleyball), Uniontown, OH
Katie O'Connors (women’s volleyball), Virginia Beach, VA
Kyle Clinton (men’s soccer), Safety Harbor, FL
Meghan Heiser (women’s softball), Sacramento, CA
Murphy McConnell (women’s softball), Milton, GA
Chelle Phillips (women’s softball), Waukee, IA
Kayla Denmyer (women’s soccer), New Freedom, PA
Briana Murphy (women’s soccer), Timmonsville, SC
Mickey Poirier (men’s tennis), Frederick, MD
Karl Rogers (men’s tennis), Killiney, Ireland
Madeline Reed (women’s cross country), Florence, SC
Samantha Smith (women’s cross country), Lexington, SC
Mona Blauen (women’s tennis), Cologne, Germany
Presidential Scholars (3.00 to 3.24 GPA):
Jordan Douglas (baseball), Johnsonville, SC
Chris Honeycutt (baseball), Fort Mill, SC
Taylor Norfleet (baseball), West End, NC
Jeremiah Meiners (baseball), Silver Spring, MD
Robert Faulkner (men’s basketball), Peoria, IL
Precious Tucker (women’s basketball), Concord, NC
Ashlee Crook (women’s volleyball), Parker, CO
Ardelia Morris (women’s volleyball), Ocoee, FL
David Balutis (men’s soccer), Florence, SC
Jared Beauchamp (men’s soccer), Marietta, GA
Cameron Mabee (men’s soccer), Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Jessica Birchmeier (women’s softball), Port Richey, FL
Destinea Schneider (women’s softball), Jacksonville, FL
Kelly Kady (women’s soccer), Huntingtown, MD
Emily Myers (women’s soccer), Louisville, KY
Rebecca Nelson (women’s soccer), New Hyde Park, NY
Megan Ogiltree (women’s soccer), Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Kiley Williams (women’s soccer), Shavertown, PA
Jack Bishop (men’s tennis), London, England
Dilshod Sharifi (men’s tennis), Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Tereza Sykorova (women’s tennis), Prague, Czech Republic
Jerry Roth (men’s cross country), Avon Lake, OH
Ian Wallace (men’s cross country), Fort Mill, SC
Tyler Waters (men’s track and field), Clover, SC
Alison Monahan (women’s track and field), Moore, SC
Michael Asay (golf), Lexington, KY


Last Published: August 2, 2010 3:42 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from