University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU places 14 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

FLORENCE, SC – The NCAA Division II Athletics Directors Association recently announced its annual list of recipients for the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT – a list that includes 14 student-athletes from Francis Marion University.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

Ninety-two institutions participated in the 2009-10 awards program and 3,022 student-athletes were recognized. The 14 Patriot honorees represented six different sports.

The FMU student-athletes included on the list are men’s basketball player Mindaugas Petreikis (Siauliai, Lithuania), men’s cross country runner Justin Trigg (Tega Cay, S.C.), women’s cross country runner Amanda Doyle (Laurens, S.C.), and baseball players Josh Biggers (Southlake, Texas), Alex Lee (Blythewood, SC), and Preston Shuey (Charlotte, N.C.).

Also, volleyball players Amanda Mitchell (Farragut, Tenn.), Jessica O’Leary (St. Louis, Mo.), and Caitlin Simpson (Scottsdale, Ariz.); and softball players Kat Beauvais (Manassas, Va.), Emily Dean (Edmonds, Wash.), Jamie Holmes (Monroe, Wash.), Cea Knox (Myrtle Beach, S.C.), and Michaela Wolf (Littleton, Colo.).

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) and have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters).


Last Published: September 1, 2010 1:49 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from