University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Six Patriots receive NFCA Softball Academic Honors

FLORENCE, S.C. – Six members of last year’s Francis Marion University women’s softball team have received National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-America Scholar-Athlete recognition, while the team earned Girls Got Game/NFCA All-Academic Team recognition for the fifth consecutive year. 

With a 3.109 cumulative grade-point average, Francis Marion ranked second among all Peach Belt Conference schools.

The six players who earned individual recognition were infielder Kat Beauvais, outfielder Tristan Faile, catcher Olivia Ferguson, and pitchers Emily Dean, Cea Knox, and Michaela Wolf. 

To be eligible for the team, players must have compiled a 3.5 grade point average (or higher) for the past (2009-10) academic year. Both Beauvais (2007,2009) and Wolf (2007,2009) earn this recognition for the third time in their careers.

Beauvais, a native of Manassas, Va., graduated cum laude in May with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in management, while Wolf, of Littleton, Colo., graduated cum laude with a B.A. degree in mass communication. Dean, a native of Edmonds, Wash., is a senior psychology major.

Knox, a native of Myrtle Beach, is now a senior majoring in political science, while Faile, who hails from Lancaster, S.C., and Ferguson, a native of Roanoke, Va., are both sophomore biology majors.

Francis Marion ended the season with a 36-16 record and earned the program’s second NCAA Division II National Tournament invitation in three seasons. The Patriots advanced to the championship game of both the Peach Belt Conference Tournament and the NCAA Dahlonega Southeast Regional.

Over the past six years, the FMU softball program has garnered 43 NFCA All-America Scholar-Athletes awards.

The All-Academic Team listings are based on cumulative team grade-point averages submitted by NFCA member head coaches for the 2009-10 academic year. 

FMU previously earned this team honor in 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009.


Last Published: October 29, 2010 4:29 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from