University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU students and faculty inducted into national honor society

FLORENCE, SC. — Francis Marion University recently inducted 16 students and two faculty members into its chapter of the prestigious national honor society, Phi Kappa Phi.  

To be considered for membership in Phi Kappa Phi, a student must be in the top 10 percent of the senior or graduate class or a second-semester junior in the top 7.5 percent of his/her class. Sound character is a supporting criterion. Faculty and alumni are chosen for outstanding contributions to their fields. These individuals are among 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year.    

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on nearly 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.  



 Florence: Samuel Z. Boan (management); Drake C. Brookins (physics); Shannon L. Pratt (English); Harrison B. Taylor (biology); Debra Anne Walters (history): Peter Whelan (professor of English); and Richard West (professor of mathematics)

Cameron: Margaret E. Haigler (chemistry)

Darlington: Megan A. Rhoads (nursing)

Effingham: Ryan Sealey (management information systems

Hartsville: Ashley A. Godfrey (biology)

Johnsonville: Nicolas A. Martin (nursing); Meredith A. Welch (nursing)

Lake View: Addie Moody (accounting)

Mullins: Shiquata A. L. Woodbury: (early childhood education)

Nichols: Heather Patterson (early childhood education)

Pamplico: Bryan J. Wells (history)



Jamie L. Holmes  (history)


Last Published: December 3, 2010 8:57 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from