University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



McBee, Wilson and Trinity Collegiate schools take top honors in math tournament

FLORENCE, S.C. – McBee High School, Wilson High School and Trinity Collegiate School took top honors at the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.  The tournament, sponsored by Francis Marion University and the Pee Dee Education Center, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium, today. 

The 34th-annual event featured approximately 219 students from 15 area schools.  Participating schools were divided into Division I, II and III schools. Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II. Division III consists of private schools in the Pee Dee. 

High schools participating included: Creek Bridge, Hannah-Pamplico, Hemingway, Johnsonville, Marion, McBee, and Mullins in Division I; Hartsville, Marlboro, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, South Florence, West Florence and Wilson in Division II; and Robert E. Lee Academy and Trinity Collegiate School in Division III. 

All students participated in a one-hour, 16-question, written competition during the morning portion of the tournament. 

Michael Hang of Hartsville High School recorded the highest individual result on the exam.  Paul Lee of Wilson High School and Sarah Paramore of Trinity Collegiate School took second and third place, respectively. 

Those receiving honorable mentions in the written competition were Emily Chen, Nishani Mathi, Christian T. Rhodes, Helena Wang, Alicia Yang of Wilson High School; Matthew Forrester Lee of Trinity Collegiate School; and Madison Hassler of Hartsville High School. 

The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals. The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly. 

In Division I, McBee High School defeated Johnsonville High School (second), and in Division II, Wilson defeated Hartsville High School (second). Among Division III schools, Trinity Collegiate School defeated Robert E. Lee Academy (second).



High School Champions in Division I
McBee High School
Runner up: Johnsonville High School
High School Champions in Division II
Wilson High School
Runner up: Hartsville High School
High School Champions in Division III
Trinity Collegiate School
Runner up: Lee Academy
First Place in the Written Competition
Michael Hang
High School: Hartsville High School
Second Place in the Written Competition
Paul Lee
High School: Wilson High School
Third Place in the Written Competition
Sarah Paramore
High School: Trinity Collegiate School
Honorable Mentions in the Written Competition
Student                                              High School
Helena Wang                                   Wilson High School
Emily Chen                                       Wilson High School
Alicia Yang                                       Wilson High School
Christian T. Rhodes                        Wilson High School
Nishani Mathi                                   Wilson High School
Matthew Forrester                            Lee Trinity Collegiate School
Madison Hassler                              Hartsville High School
Top Scorers from the Counties
(Note well: These awards are always to be called “Top Scorer from a County”, never “Top Scorer in a County”.)
County                                Student Name                         High School
Chesterfield                       Clayton James Garrison        McBee High School
Darlington                          Michael Hang                          Hartsville High School
Florence                             Paul Lee                                   Wilson High School
Georgetown                       Jordan Carmichael                 Johnsonville High School
Lee                                      Megan Schwendinger           Lee Academy
Marion                                 Brooke Kirkland                      Mullins High School
Marlboro                             Jarobvey Matthews                 Marlboro County High School
Williamsburg                     William Bartelle                       hemingway High School
List of Participating Schools
Division I: Smaller Public High Schools
Creek Bridge High School
Hannah-Pamplico High School
Hemingway High School
Johnsonville High School
Marion High School
McBee High School
Mullins High School
Division II: Larger Public High Schools
Hartsville High School
Marlboro County High School
Mayo High School for Mathematics, Science, and Technology
South Florence High School
West Florence High School
Wilson High School
Division III: Private Schools
Lee Acacemy
Trinity Collegiate School
Number of high schools participating: 15
Number of students participating: 219



Last Published: December 8, 2010 10:59 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from