University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Two former Patriots earn NCAA postgraduate scholarships

FLORENCE, SC – Two former Francis Marion University student-athletes, women’s basketball player Brittany Young and softball catcher Jamie Holmes, are among 26 recipients of $6000 scholarships from the NCAA as part of its Ethnic Minority and Women’s Enhancement Postgraduate Scholarship for Careers in Athletics program.

Thirteen scholarships were awarded to ethnic minorities and 13 scholarships to female college graduates who will be entering their initial year of postgraduate studies. FMU was the only school to garner two awards.

Developed by the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics and the NCAA Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee, the goal of the non-renewable scholarship is to increase the pool of and opportunities for qualified minority and female candidates in intercollegiate athletics.

The scholarship will be for use during the 2011-2012 academic year.

Young, a native of Moncks Corner, played for Francis Marion between 2004 and 2008. An All-Conference selection in 2008, she amassed career totals of 1,200 points, 531 assists, 411 rebounds, and 214 steals. She became only the fourth player in FMU history to record 1,000 career points and 500 career assists. She was also named team MVP as a junior and served as president of the school’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Holmes, a native of Monroe, Wash., played for the Patriots between 2007 and 2010. She appeared in 48 career games with a .179 batting average, and committed only one error during her four-year career. She played on a pair of Francis Marion squads that advanced to the NCAA Tournament, and twice earned NFCA All-America Scholar-Athlete recognition.

Young earned a B.S. degree in political science, while Holmes graduated cum laude with a B.S. degree in elementary education.



NCAA Ethnic Minority and Women’s Enhancement Postgraduate Scholarship for Careers in Athletics program

Ethnic minority awardees:
Darius Law; University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Christopher Brown; Neumann University
Jewel May; University of South Caroline, Columbia
Lawrence Trice; Arizona State University
Michael Woo; Lynn University
Brittany Young; Francis Marion University
Rebecca White; Eastern Kentucky University
Ivana Rich;Virginia Commonwealth University
Camille Collier; Wake Forest University
Sierra Oates; Coastal Carolina University
Maxine Goynes; Santa Clara University
Shayla Jackson; Belmont Abbey College
Shanea Rufus; Florida State University
Women’s awardees:
D’Anna Piro; Oregon State University
Danielle Matthews; Texas Tech University
Shayna Sangster; Western Michigan University
Vista Beasley; Georgia Institute of Technology
Marcia Kennedy; Nebraska Wesleyan University
Suzette Taylor; University of Georgia
Katalin Navarre; Denison University
Jamie Holmes; Francis Marion University
Nicole Westphal; University of South Carolina, Aiken
Kayla McCulley; Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Caroline Bevillard; Georgia Southern University
Karen Mandrachia; University of Delaware
Grace Murray; University of California, Los Angeles


Last Published: March 30, 2011 2:38 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from