University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Non-Profit Leadership Institute graduates ninth class

FLORENCE, S.C. – Thirty-one South Carolina residents participated in commencement exercises for the ninth class of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, recently.   

Institute participants were each presented with a certificate. The institute is a seven-month training program for leaders of non-profits. Topics included leadership; program development and delivery; human resource development, including board members and volunteers; effective financial resource development and management; programmatic and organizational issues related to data collection and reporting; visibility, including managing external relations; and case studies.  

Funded initially with multi-year grants from the Drs. Bruce and Lee Foundation, the institute now receives major support from FMU, along with a grant from the PSARAS Foundation.   

Fred Sheheen, former commissioner and executive director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education, is director of the FMU Non-Profit Leadership Institute.  

The class will be conducted again during the 2011-2012 academic year. For more information, contact Elizabeth C. Bonnoitt, Non-Profit Leadership Institute liaison, at 843-661-1199 or visit the NPLI website at  

Participants in the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University

(Organization City: Participant name, Organization 

Columbia: Valeda Collins, United Way; Jim Fields, Palmetto Institute; Bridgett Molony, United Way; Susie Shannon, Palmetto Institute; Chris Younts, Hidden Wounds, LLC 

Conway: Sandy Morrissey, Horry County First Steps 

Coward: Clyde Bess, The Ronald McNair Memorial Foundation 

Florence: Dan Aberanthy, Florence Little Theatre; Marc Buxton, Global Surge, Central Missionary Clearinghouse; Reanna Karousis, HopeHealth, Inc.; Roger Malfatti, Florence Symphony Orchestra; Nyrita Myers, Minerva Center Foundation; Laura Smith, The Children’s Museum of the Pee Dee; Rufus Timmons, The Ronald McNair Memorial Foundation; Wanda Vereen, House of Hope in the Pee Dee; Mary Wiser, Florence County Library 

Hartsville: Sharon Black, CareSouth Carolina 

Irmo: Chris Smith, S.C. Association of Special Purpose Districts 

Lake City: Brian Kennedy, Lake City Community Foundation; Jody Martin, Community Museum Society; Rutha Frieson, FAVOR, Inc. 

Lancaster: Stacy Boyd, United Way of Lancaster; Melanie Outlaw, United Way of Lancaster; 

Lexington: Cari Moyer, Richland County First Steps; Maureen Taylor, S.C. Business Initiative 

Marion: Randy Floyd, RALI Marion 

North Charleston: Shakima Crooks, Parents Anonymous of South Carolina 

Orangeburg: Sallie Bachman, HopeHealth, Inc. 

Piedmont: Patrick Garrett, The Blood Connection, Inc. 

Walterboro: Janette Moyer, United Way of Bamberg, Colleton and Hampton counties

West Columbia: Reva Brennan, Educational Fund of the SCACPA 


Last Published: July 18, 2011 10:07 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from