University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Four Patriots gain NCBWA All-Region baseball honors

FLORENCE, S.C. – Four Francis Marion University baseball players were recently named to the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s (NCBWA) NCAA Division II Southeast All-Region Team.

Senior outfielder Buddy Sosnoskie and sophomore pitcher Don Sandifer were first-team selections, while senior first baseman Preston Shuey and freshman right-handed pitcher Jeffrey Stoner were named to the third team. Sandifer earns first-team honors for the second consecutive year.

Sosnoskie, a native of Statesville, N.C., led FMU with a .396 average, nine stolen bases, and a .550 slugging percentage, and was the Peach Belt Conference leader in triples (9) and sacrifice flies (9). He also scored 42 runs while registering 80 hits, 10 doubles, one home run, and 45 runs batted in. He owned a .474 on-base percentage and a .993 fielding average with five outfield assists. He compiled 22 multi-hit games and 11 multi-RBIs games, while reaching base safely in 54 of 57 games. Nationally, he ranks second in sacrifice flies and third in triples. He struck out only 19 times in 253 plate appearances.

Sandifer, a native of Bamberg, was 11-3 with a 2.33 earned run average. He led the PBC in wins, strikeouts (105), and opponents’ batting average against at .193. In 108 innings pitched, he allowed only 75 hits and walked just 16, ranking him 31st nationally in fewest bases-on-balls issued per nine innings. He recorded six complete games, including a school-record three shutouts.

Shuey, a native of Charlotte, N.C., batted .308 and led Francis Marion with eight home runs and a school-record 67 RBIs. He scored 40 runs and recorded 11 doubles and a .374 on-base percentage. He committed only four errors in 550 chances for a .993 fielding percentage. He ended his career as the Patriots’ all-time RBI leader (312) and ranks second in Division II history with 1,939 career putouts.

Stoner, a native of Martinez, Ga., set an FMU season record for best winning percentage with his perfect 9-0 mark. He posted a 2.40 ERA and in 78.2 innings pitched fanned 51 batters and walked only 21. Opponents batted only .217 against him (fifth-best in the PBC). He tied for the conference lead in fewest runs allowed (23).

The four players helped Francis Marion to a 41-16 record, a national Top-10 ranking, the PBC regular-season championship, and a third straight appearance in the NCAA Division II Tournament. The 41 victories equals the most in team history, and the Patriots advanced to the regional title game for the second consecutive year.

2011 NCBWA NCAA Division II Southeast All-Region Baseball Team 

First Team
C – Joe Maloney (Limestone)
1B – Brian Yeung (Wingate)
2B – Juan Alverez (Lincoln Memorial)
SS – Tanner Funk (Georgia College)
3B – Jacob Rogers (Mount Olive)
DH/UT – Michael Knox (Mount Olive)
OF – Dodson McPherson (Wingate)
OF – Buddy Sosnoski (Francis Marion)
OF – Shawn Ward (Georgia)
SP – Carter Capps (Mount Olive)
SP – Don Sandifer (Francis Marion)
SP – Scott Shipman (Augusta State)
RP – Braxton Lewis (UNC Pembroke)
Second Team
C – Sean Cotten (Tusculum)
1B – John Bolding (Erskine)
2B – Dan Hayduk (Mount Olive)
SS – Michael Bueker (Mars Hill)
3B – Chris Dula (Catawba)
DH/UT – Garrett Furr (Catawba)
OF – Jason Simone (Mount Olive)
OF – Alexi Colon (Tusculum)
OF – Keith Whitman (UNC Pembroke)
SP – Nick Lomascolo (Catawba)
SP – Blake Hobby (North Georgia)
SP – Cameron Ward (Limestone)
RP – Atlee Pearson (Erskine)
Third Team
C – Richard Pirkle (Georgia College)
1B – Preston Shuey (Francis Marion)
2B – Austin Dubberly (Montevallo)
SS – Stephen Carmon (USC Aiken)
3B – Chris Vazquez (Belmont Abbey)
DH/UT – Jason Coker (UNC Pembroke)
OF – Ryan Lewis (Columbus State)
OF – Cody Pack (Lincoln Memorial)
OF – Josh Haley (UNC Pembroke)
SP – JJ Jankowski (Catawba)
SP – Jeffrey Stoner (Francis Marion)
SP – Brian Willis (UNC Pembroke)
RP – Jacob Rickett (North Georgia)
Player of the Year – Dodson McPherson (Wingate) Pitcher of the Year – Carter Capps (Mount Olive) Coach of the Year – Carl Lancaster (Mount Olive)


Last Published: June 1, 2011 9:42 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from