University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Patriot pair named to Martinez Award semifinal list


FLORENCE, SC – A pair of Francis Marion University baseball players, junior center fielder Buddy Sosnoskie and sophomore right-handed pitcher Don Sandifer, have been named as semifinalists for the 2011 Tino Martinez Award as announced by College Baseball Lineup.

The award is presented to the most outstanding player in NCAA Division II college baseball. The annual honor is named for the former University of Tampa standout and Major League Baseball All-Star, who was also a United States Olympian and a first-round draft pick.

The forty-six semifinalists represent forty-one different schools from across the nation. Each of the eight geographic regions is represented with a minimum of five players.

Initial nominations for the award were made by baseball sports information contacts and media members. A panel of media, coaches and sports information officers was polled to finalize the candidates. The group will again vote on the finalists, with a fan Internet vote also contributing to the crowning of the winner.

The finalists are scheduled to be named on Thursday, May 19. The winner will be announced after the conclusion of the Division II Baseball Championships held in Cary, N.C., from May 28 to June 4.

Sosnoskie leads FMU, and the Peach Belt Conference, with a .415 batting average. He has hit safely in 22 of his last 23 contests. The Statesville, N.C., native has also scored 40 runs and registered nine doubles, (conference-leading) eight triples, one homer, and 42 runs batted in. He has compiled a .574 slugging percentage and a .493 on-base percentage. He has stolen a team-leading eight bases and played a near-flawless center fielder with five assists and only one error.

Sandifer leads the Patriot pitching staff with a 10-3 record and a 2.32 earned run average. Opponents are batting only .190 against him and he has struck out 94 batters in 93 innings, while issuing only 11 walks. The Bamberg, S.C., product leads the PBC in wins and opponents’ batting average, while ranking second in strikeouts and ERA.

The ninth-ranked Patriots (37-14) are awaiting Sunday evening’s announcement of the Division II National Tournament field to see if they will receive an at-large invitation.

2011 Tino Martinez Award Semifinalists

California PA                         Randy Sturgill
East Stroudsburg                 Jeremy Gigliotti
Mercyhurst                             Nick Gillung
Shepherd                               Nathan Minnich
Slippery Rock                        Matt Howard
Concorida St. Paul               Bryan Lippincott
Metro State                             David Fox
Minnesota State                    Danny Miller
Nebraska-Kearney               Andrew Hakke
St. Cloud State                      Ryne Schwenke
Franklin Pierce                      Derek Ingui
Franklin Pierce                      Ryan Thompson
Molloy                                      Chuck Fontana
Southern Connecticut St.     Chris Zbin
St. Anselm                               Robert Kelly
Ashland                                  Ajay Meyer
Grand Valley State                Steve Anderson
Grand Valley State                Kyle Schepel
Northern Kentucky                 Andy Heston
St. Joseph 's (IN)                   Sean Estand
Wayne State University         Billy Hurley
Arkansas Tech                      Matt Johnson
Barry                                       Dean Green
Florida Tech                          Jonathan Cornelius
Nova Southeastern              Andrew Durden
West Florida                          Greg Pron
West Florida                          Jason Postill
West Florida                          Shane Waller


Cameron                                Chase Larsson
Central Missouri                    Nick DeBiasse
Emporia State                       Dillon Hazlett
Southeastern Okla. St.        Justin Miller
Southeastern Okla. St.        Heath Wyatt
St. Mary's (TX)                       Sammy Rivas
West Texas A&M                  Jess Cooper
Franics Marion                      Buddy Sosnoskie
Franics Marion                      Don Sandifer
Georgia College                   Shawn Ward
Mount Olive                            Michael Knox
Mount Olive                            Carter Capps
UNC Pembroke                    Braxton Lewis
Wingate                                  Dodson McPherson
Cal Poly Pomona                  Travis Taijeron
Cal State LA                           Gabriel Asakura
CSU San Bernardino           Josh Pond
UC San Diego                       Tim Shibuya
Western Oregon                    Daniel Dillard


Last Published: June 1, 2011 10:05 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from