University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU tennis pair earn ITA All-America honors

FLORENCE, SC – Francis Marion University senior Oshada Wijemanne and junior Jitka Gavdunova have been named to the 2011 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) NCAA Division II All-America Team.

Wijemanne earns national honors for the third consecutive year, while Gavdunova is a two-time All-American as she was also named as a freshman in 2009.

Wijemanne, a native of Colombo, Sri Lanka, was 11-4 at the No. 1 singles position and was ranked 10th nationally. Seven of his victories came against nationally ranked opponents, and he was named the men’s Senior Player of the Year for the Southeast Region.

He concluded his career with the second-most career singles wins (56) in Francis Marion history.

Gavdunova was 15-1 in singles play at the No. 1 position and was ranked 13th nationally. She was selected as the women’s Player to Watch for the Southeast Region, and her lone loss was to the then No.1-ranked singles player in Division II. 

A native of Vejprty, Czech Republic, she owns a 53-6 career singles record in her three seasons at FMU.

The Francis Marion men posted a 10-8 mark this past year, earned the program’s 15th NCAA Tournament invitation in the past 17 seasons, and ended the season ranked 17th nationally. The Patriot women concluded their season with an 11-7 record and were ranked 30th in the final national poll.

There have been eight All-Americans within the Patriot men’s tennis program: Wijemanne (2009, 2010, 2011), Dilshod Sharifi (2009, 2010), Kevin Taylor (2006), Mark Bube (2000, 2001, 2002), Sollie Nortje (2000, 2001), Laszlo Leiter (1999), Sam Lundkvist (1995, 1996, 1997), and Garth Thomson (1989, 1990).

There have been nine All-American in the history of the Patriot women’s program: Gavdunova (2009, 2011), Tereza Sykorova (2008, 2009, 2010), Sabina Baberadova (2010), Kristyna Horakova (2009), Annamaria Atamaniuk (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001), Orsolya Somorjai (1998, 1999), Mary Hirst (1992, 1993, 1994), Lee Whitwell (1993, 1994, 1996), and Siobhan Murnane (1992).


Last Published: June 22, 2011 1:57 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from