University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU places 12 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards list

FLORENCE, SC – The NCAA Division II Athletics Directors Association recently announced its annual list of recipients for the Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards – a list that includes 12 student-athletes from Francis Marion University.

The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

Ninety-eight institutions participated in the 2010-11 awards program and 3,676 student-athletes were recognized. The 12 Patriot honorees represented six different sports.

The FMU student-athletes included on the list are men’s basketball player Mindaugas Petreikis (Siauliai, Lithuania), men’s soccer player Chuy Cruz (Austin, Texas), and baseball players Dalton Gress (Aiken, S.C.), Preston Shuey (Charlotte, N.C.), and Joe Wagstaff (Zebulon, N.C.).

Also, volleyball players Amanda Mitchell (Farragut, Tenn.) and Danielle Parker (Lockwood, Mo.); women’s tennis players Mona Blauen (Cologne, Germany) and Kerry Hall (Westville, Natal, South Africa), and softball players Tristan Faile (Lancaster, S.C.), Olivia Ferguson (Roanoke, Va.), and Cea Knox (Myrtle Beach, S.C.).

Knox, Mitchell, and Petreikis all earn this honor for the second straight year, while Shuey is a three-time honoree.

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) and have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters).


Last Published: September 2, 2011 2:11 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from