University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Two FMU professors named Trustees' Research Scholars

FLORENCE – Lynn Kostoff, Nellie Cooke Sparrow Writer in Residence and Professor of English, and Dr. LeRoy Peterson, Jr., professor of chemistry, will be named Francis Marion University Board of Trustees’ Research Scholars for 2011. 

“I am very proud to appoint these two distinguished colleagues as Trustees’ Research Scholars. Pete and Lynn are two of our most prolific researchers as well as being two of our most inspiring teachers,” said FMU President Fred Carter. “The entire university community joins me in recognizing their accomplishments and applauding their success.” 

Lynn KostoffKostoff is the author of three novels - A Choice of Nightmares (1991), The Long Fall (2003), and Late Rain (2010)—and is working on two new novels, The Work of Hands, and The Length of Days

Kostoff earned the B.F.A. and M.F.A. degrees in creative writing from Bowling Green State University. Before joining the FMU faculty in 1985, the Hartford, Ohio native taught at Indiana State University and the University of Alabama. He has received numerous awards and honors during his tenure at FMU and has served on a host of committees.   

In the community, Kostoff consults with local schoolteachers on creative writing projects on a regular basis and makes visits to the schools to talk to the students. He hosts Advanced Placement high school students, teaching them creative writing. In addition, he assists students entering the Governor’s School of the Arts with preparing their portfolios. 

Dr. LeRoy PetersonA native of Florence, Peterson earned a bachelor’s degree at FMU in 1984 and received his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of South Carolina where he was an undergraduate laboratory-teaching assistant.  He joined the faculty of FMU in 1990. 

An active researcher, Peterson has received grants from the National Science Foundation, the South Carolina EPSCoR/Brin Collaborative Research Program, and the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. He is the author or co-author of numerous publications and presentations. He received the FMU Faculty Service Award for 2001-2002. 

He is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Pee Dee Math and Science Hub, the Science South project and the S.C. Academy of Science. He is president of North Vista PTA, serves on the board of Florence Boys and Girls Club and coaches in youth basketball leagues. He is faculty advisor for Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi fraternities and Zeta Phi Beta sorority and is active in the university’s African-American Faculty and Staff Coalition. He is also a member of the FMU Institutional Effectiveness Committee.

The Research Scholar appointments are for three-year terms and are renewable. The two new appointees join John Britton, Jeff Camper, Fred David, Bill Fox, Scott Kaufman, Jeff Lee, Larry McCumber, Lorraine de Montluzin, Jeff Pompe, Bill Ramsey, Jon Tuttle and Benjamin Woods.

The Research Scholar designation signifies outstanding scholarly achievements and the promise of continued scholarly activity in the future. 


Last Published: November 18, 2011 8:58 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from