University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU graduates fifth student leadership class

FLORENCE – Francis Marion University’s Leadership FMU program recently held its fifth graduation to recognize and celebrate student leadership.  

The 35 students who participated in the program join more than118 participants since its inception in January 2008.University administrators, staff, students and others gathered as some of FMU’s student leaders were given certificates of completion for the program.  

“I am continually impressed with the students who participate in this program. They understand that leadership is journey and are eager to prepare themselves.” said Teresa Ramey, vice president for student affairs and one of the advisors for the program. “I am very proud of the commitment these students showed by attending the sessions. Their willingness to learn and learn from each other is a true sign of leadership.”    

Ramey serves alongside four other advisors: Dollie Newhouse, director of career development; Cheri Richardson, associate dean of students; Steven Sims, circulation manager at Rogers Library; and Dr. Nancy Zaice, assistant professor of English.  

The purpose of the program is to enhance the leadership skills of FMU students by providing programs and services designed to increase knowledge of community development, ethical standards, professional and career development and civic responsibility.  

In addition to the regular recognition ceremony, the Leadership Legacy Award, which is typically awarded at the Student Life Awards in spring, was awarded to Jennifer Gaskins. The Leadership Legacy Award is awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership in a variety of areas at the University. 

Leadership FMU is a programmatic function of the Division of Student Affairs. An administrative board and the Leadership Advisory Board, is charged with the development of a series of programs and services for FMU students. The Leadership Advisory Board (LAB) is composed of faculty, students and staff who have an interest in enhancing leadership opportunities for students. Members of the LAB are selected by the Dean of Students and represent the university community. 

For additional information about the program, contact Ramey at (843) 661-1182 or by email at 


Among the graduates were (by hometown):  

Camden: Delia Davis (Pre-Nursing); Amal Hall (Psychology)

Charleston: Cynthia Brown (Sociology); Ashley Harris (Early Childhood); Abagail Roper (Accounting / Mass Communications); Kerry Smith (Business Management/Marketing)

Chester: Benjamin Miller (Biology)

Chesterfield: Jeremy Rivers (Visual Communications)

Columbia: Renae Alston (Business Management /Marketing); David Golden (Elementary Education); JohnTriece Myers (Biology / Pre-Nursing); Tiffany Roper (Mass Communications); Stephanie Smith (Psychology); Dorothea Snead (Biology / Pre-Nursing)

Conway: Deron Wilson (Political Science)

Darlington: Shadaris Phillips (Pre-Nursing)

Dillon: Maigen Bethea (Biology); Alanna McLellan (Psychology)

Florence: Shamika Charles (Biology / Pre-Med)

Greenville: Miesha Thompson (Pre-Nursing)

Huger: Demetria White (Psychology)

Irmo: Logan Trively(Mass Communications)

Latta: Stephanie Berry (Pre-Pharmacy)

Mullins: Kaanan Lewis (Elementary Education)

North Charleston: Asia Isadore (Biology)

Pamplico: Ashley Bryant (Biology)

Pineville: Asa Fludd (Early Childhood)

Rembert: Felicia Hudson (Psychology)

Summerton: De’Swinyana Jones (Biology)

Sumter: Clarissa Chestnut (Political Science); Quantia Richardson (Pre-Nursing)

Walterboro: Aaron Bennett (Psychology)



Huntingtown, Md.: Kelly Kady (Early Childhood)

Mount Joy, Pa.: Morgan Meckley (Biology/Pre-Med)

Tustin, Ca.: Gabrielle Pinneo (Theatre) 


Last Published: December 19, 2011 9:02 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from