University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Marion, Wilson high schools, Robert E. Lee Academy take top honors in math tournament

FLORENCE – Marion High School and Wilson High School and Robert E. Lee Academy took top honors at the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament. 

The tournament, sponsored by Francis Marion University and the Pee Dee Education Center, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium recently.  

The 35th-annual event featured approximately 272 students from 15 area schools.  Participating schools were divided into Division I, II and III schools. Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II. Division III consists of private schools in the Pee Dee.  

High schools participating included: Creek Bridge, Hannah-Pamplico, Hemingway, Johnsonville, Kingstree, Marion, McBee, and Mullins in Division I; Hartsville, Marlboro, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, West Florence and Wilson in Division II; and The Byrnes Schools, Robert E. Lee Academy in Division III.  

All students participated in a one-hour, 16-question, written competition during the morning portion of the tournament.  

Eagle Wu of Marion High School recorded the highest individual result on the exam.  Aditya Pande of Wilson High School and Clayton James Garrison of McBee High School took second and third place, respectively.  

Those receiving honorable mentions in the written competition were Mary DuBard, Paul Lee, Jonathan Ma and Vincent Razon-Donato of Wilson High School; Brooke Kirkland of Mullins High School; and Clayton Mims and Annisa Fakhriya Rofi of Hannah-Pamplico High School. 

The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals. The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.  

In Division I, Marion High School defeated Mullins High School (second), and in Division II, Wilson defeated Hartsville High School (second). Among Division III schools, Robert E. Lee Academy defeated The Byrnes Schools (second). 


High School Champions in Division I
Marion High School
Runner up: Mullins High School
High School Champions in Division II
Wilson High School
Runner up: Hartsville High School
High School Champions in Division III
Robert E. Lee Academy
Runner up: The Byrnes Schools
First Place in the Written Competition
Eagle Wu
High School: Marion High School
Second Place in the Written Competition
Aditya Pande
High School: Wilson High School
Third Place in the Written Competition
Clayton James Garrison
High School: McBee High School


Honorable Mentions in the Written Competition

Student                                              High School 

Mary DuBard                                   Wilson High School
Brooke Kirkland                             Mullins High School
Paul Lee                                          Wilson High School
Jonathan Ma                                   Wilson High School
Clayton Mims                                 Hannah-Pamplico High School
Vincent Razon-Donato                 Wilson High School
Annisa Fakhriya Rofi                     Hannah-Pamplico High School


Last Published: December 8, 2011 9:21 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from