University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Four-time All-American cager to enter FMU Athletic Hall of Fame

FLORENCE, S.C. - Francis Marion University athletic officials recently announced that former women’s basketball player Tracey Tillman Young is the newest inductee into the FMU Athletic Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will take place during Homecoming activities on Saturday (Feb. 18) in the Smith University Center gymnasium at approximately 3:15 p.m. between the women’s and men's games of the FMU and Flagler College basketball doubleheader.

A native of Society Hill, Young is currently a physical education paraprofessional at Parkside Elementary School in Fredericksburg, Va., and serves as the girls’ basketball junior varsity head coach at James Monroe High School. She is married and has four children.

A product of St. John’s High School in Darlington, Young played four seasons of basketball at Francis Marion from 1984 to 1988. She earned a B.S. degree in business management from the University of Phoenix.

A four-time All-American – three times named to the first team – she helped lead Francis Marion to a four-year mark of 115-18, two NAIA District Six championships, and the 1986 NAIA national championship. She was named the most valuable player of that 1986 national tournament.

She played in 133 career games and scored 2,686 points, which at that time was second on NAIA career list and is still second in FMU history. She grabbed 1,333 career rebounds, which is second on the FMU list, and she registered 468 blocked shots, which was at that time the NAIA national record and is still the FMU all-time mark. 

She recorded a pair of triple-doubles with points, rebounds, and blocked shots: on Dec. 3, 1986 and Feb. 7, 1987. She holds the Patriots’ single-season records for field goal percentage (61.1%) and blocked shots (165), and still owns the FMU career mark for field goal percentage (57.7%).

She became the first four-time All-District selection in the history of District Six, and was the district’s Player of the Year in 1987. She was selected to the 1986 District Six Tournament All-Tournament Team and was chosen to play in the 1988 District Six All-Star Game.

Other honors she garnered included being a three-time team MVP, seven-time District Six Player of the Week and two-time NAIA national Player of the Week, three-time selection to the Foxy Lady Tournament All-Tournament Team (including one year as MVP), and three years being named to the South Carolina Association of Sportswriters’ All-State Team, including Player of the Year recognition in 1987. 

Young played her freshman prep season at Rosenwald High School and her final three years at St. John’s, where she was a two-time All-State performer for coach Nona Kerr. She also played five seasons of AAU basketball in the Pee Dee area.

Young joins 37 current members in the FMU Athletic Hall of Fame, which was formed in 1991. Past inductees include Chiffonia “Precious” Adderson (women’s basketball), Cindy Alford (women’s softball), Jeannette Alston (women’s basketball, volleyball), Kristi Anderson (women’s softball), Mark Bedenbaugh (cross country, track and field), Gary Bennett (golf), Daryl Blume (men’s basketball), Jennifer Brabson (women’s basketball), Maria Costas (women’s basketball, tennis, volleyball), Tom C. Davidson (coach and administrator), Carlton Farr (men’s basketball), LaRue Fields (women’s basketball, volleyball), Alvaro Figuerola (men’s soccer), Allen Floyd (men’s basketball), Jennifer Grande Parker (volleyball, women’s basketball), Jeremy Halpin (baseball), Sylvia Rhyne Hatchell (women’s basketball coach), Lewis Hill (men’s basketball coach), Mary Hirst (women’s tennis), Wayne Huggins (baseball), Scotty Keefe (baseball), Anthony “Chico” Lombardo (baseball), Sam Lundkvist (men’s tennis), Pearl Moore (women’s basketball), Robert Moore (men’s basketball), Krissy Burt Owens (women’s volleyball), Mitch Powell (track and field, cross country), Tommy Randall (golf), Josef Schroeder (men’s soccer), Kim Slawson Hawkins (women’s basketball player and coach), David Stafford (track and field, cross country), Garth Thomson (men’s tennis player and coach), Randy White (track and field, cross country), Mike Wilson (baseball), Lee Whitwell (women’s tennis), Bob Wilson (men’s basketball player and coach), and Rendy Yates (women’s softball player and coach).


Last Published: March 1, 2012 9:49 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from