University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



RLI-Full-Group 2012
FMU graduates 26 from the Rural Leadership Institute

FLORENCE – Twenty-six South Carolina residents participated in the Rural Area Leadership Initiative at Francis Marion University for 2011-12.

The RLI at FMU included 40 hours of leadership training delivered in one-day sessions over several months. The curriculum includes two phases with six sessions each; Phase One concentrates on individual skill development and Phase Two concentrates on leadership and program development for community based organizations.

Hailing from seven counties, participants were drawn from the private sector and non-profit organizations. The recruitment process identified a diverse cohort to best represent their community and region.

The curriculum of RLI emphasizes organizational management, budgeting and finance, problem solving, intergovernmental relations and other topics specifically tailored to the needs of rural communities. A distinguished faculty includes a diverse representation of scholars and renowned practitioners from higher education institutions, the private sector and non-profit organizations from throughout the nation.

Graduates by county (organization):

Chesterfield County:

Amy Brown (Chesterfield Town Council); Wendell Perdue (Mayor of Patrick, S.C.); and Lenora Powe (Chesterfield County Council); Runette Wilson (Chesterfield Town Council); Ethel Wynn (Chesterfield Chamber of Commerce)

Clarendon County : Susan Anderson (F.E. DuBose Career Center); Dory Corbett (Clarendon School District 2); Lesley Dykes (Clarendon Memorial Hospital); Pat Goodwin (City of Manning); Sam Levy (Sam Levy & Sons Photography Studio); Alex Macklin

(Clarendon Memorial Hospital); Bea Rivers (Scotts Branch Alumni Association); Konstaintin Vengerowsky (Clarendon Citizen); and Charlotte Johnston Harvin (Clarendon County Library) 

Florence County: Ronald Carter (NESA) 

Lee County: Alexis Pipkins (Lee County First Steps); Hannah Hickman (Lee County First Steps); Bettye Scott (Lee County First Steps); and Maverick Wilson (Lee County First Steps)                              

Marlboro County: Hubie Meggs (RALI Marlboro) 

Sumter County: Allen Bailey (UPS); Chris McDuffie; Marilyn Morgan (Morgan and Morgan Interpreters); Carolina Richardson (Sumter County-County Treasurer); and Valarie Brunson (Sumter County- Treasurer’s Office)

Williamsburg County: Charles Garner (RALI Williamsburg) 


Last Published: May 21, 2012 1:46 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from