University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU Staff Awards 2012
Lloyd and Timmons named FMU’s 2012 Outstanding Employees

FLORENCE – Violet Lloyd of Florence and Lynn Timmons of Effingham have been named outstanding staff employees of the year at Francis Marion University.

The awards were presented today during the staff awards luncheon, which also honored FMU employees for length of state service.

Lloyd is a lead custodian who has worked for the university for nearly 18 years.  Timmons has been employed at FMU for more than 15 years and is a administrative associate for financial services. They both were cited for their dedication to their jobs and for service above and beyond the call of duty. FMU President Luther F. Carter presented Lloyd and Timmons with plaques and $1,000 checks in recognition of winning this annual award for employees.

Lloyd was cited for her selfless service, professionalism and dedication to duty, in addition to her superior skill and care in her work. In her free time she raises money to support the St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital and enjoys cheering on the FMU baseball team.

It is her compassion and thoughtfulness toward others that sets Timmons apart from others, according to her colleagues. Known as the “keeper of the books”, Timmons schedules the use of facilities with an eye to the faculty, administration, staff, students and the public.

Yvonne G. Davis of Florence, acquisitions coordinator in Rogers Library, was cited for 30 years of state service. 

Employees honored for 20 years of service include: Howard M. Byrd Jr., senior programmer/analyst; Wendy M. Moore, cataloging coordinator; and Derrick E. Young, director of recreation and evening programs. 

Employees recognized for 10 years of service were: Curtis Cato, estate groundskeeper; Larry B. Falck, media production and instructional designer; Evone Legette, custodian; Christopher S. Moore, police sergeant; Sherry A. Owens, administrative assistant for chemistry, physics and astronomy; Susan T. Skinner, administrative associate; Cathy J. Swartz, director or accounting services; and Janie K. Williams, graphic designer for public and community affairs. 

The following 15 employees received retirement awards from FMU: Robert C. Barrett, executive director of the Francis Marion University Trail Commission; Judy Bird, help desk coordinator; Elenor Boardwine, custodian; Randolph Brown, maintenance assistant; Allison Corbett; Rebecca Culbertson, coordinator of benefits, safety and workers’ compensation; Mary Dargan, custodian; Elizabeth Gould, director of human resources services; Sheron Jacobs, director of telecommunications and asset management; Susan Johnson, administrative assistant for campus technology; Marianne Langley, administrative coordinator of the Northeastern Strategic Alliance; H. Elizabeth McLean, registrar; Frances B. Roberts, child care director for the Gail and Terry Richardson Center for the Child; Damon Runion, supervisor of academic and support for Buildings/Zone Maintenance; and Marion “Spyder” Webb, athletic trainer.


Last Published: January 10, 2013 10:11 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from