University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



S.C. Legislature re-elects eight to FMU Board of Trustees

Mark BunchFrank Elmore*Tracy FreemanEddie GunnKen JacksonFloyd KeelsRobert LeeMark Moore





The S.C. Legislature re-elected eight members of the Francis Marion University Board of Trustees to four-year terms by acclamation this week.

The members returning to the board were James Mark Bunch of Gaffney; L. Franklin Elmore of Greenville; R. Tracy Freeman of North Augusta; William R. Gunn of Columbia; Kenneth W. Jackson of Florence; Floyd L. Keels of Lake City; Robert E. Lee of Florence; and Mark S. Moore of Mt. Pleasant.

Though all are incumbents, the re-elected board members bring varying degrees of experience to their next term. Jackson and Lee were re-elected to their fifth terms and Elmore to his fourth. Freeman and Gunn were elected to their second terms. Bunch, Keels and Moore were just elected to the board last year.

Dr. Luther F. Carter, FMU’s President, says the experience and abilities of the members who were re-elected will serve the university well in the years ahead.

“The re-election of this group speaks to the quality of our board,” says Carter. “Francis Marion University has benefitted, and will continue to benefit, from its leadership. Quite frankly, this is the strongest governing board in the state of South Carolina.”      

Representation on the FMU board is divided between members representing South Carolina congressional districts and at-large seats. Bunch, Keels, and Moore were re-elected to district seats. Elmore, Freeman, Gunn, Jackson and Lee were re-elected to at-large seats.

The 21-member board (including two emeriti members) meets quarterly and is charged with overseeing the effective governance of the college.


Last Published: April 24, 2014 2:18 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from