University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



FMU professors honored for teaching, service, research, governance

Four Francis Marion University faculty members were honored for outstanding individual work during the past year at a faculty recognition banquet at the school on April 17.

Karen K. Gittings was given the Award of Excellence in Teaching; Jennifer G. Kelley was presented the Award for Excellence in Service;  and Larry Engelhardt received the Award for Excellence in Research.

Dr. Meredith Love-Steinmetz received the Charlene Wages Shared Governance Award, a special award presented by Francis Marion University chapter of the American Association of University Professors. The Shared Governance Award is given to a faculty member who has made significant contributions to shared governance at FMU.

Francis Marion University President Dr. Luther F. Carter said the work of Gittings, Kelley, Engelhardt and Love-Stienmetz continue the university’s tradition of outstanding teaching, scholarship and service.

“Their work exemplifies the extraordinary capabilities of what I believe to be the finest collegiate faculty in the state,” said Carter. “I am very proud of Karen, Jennifer, Larry, and Meredith, and am pleased that they have been recognized.”

Love-Steinmetz is assistant professor of English and coordinator of the English composition program at FMU. Gittings is an assistant professor of nursing. Kelley is an associate professor of chemistry, and Engelhardt is an associate professor of physics.

Last Published: May 12, 2014 9:32 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from