University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Latta School Board okays $10,000 FMU Teacher Ed Scholarship

FLORENCE – The Latta School Board of Trustees has established an endowed scholarship in the amount of $10,000 at Francis Marion University.    The scholarship will benefit students majoring in the teacher education program who are graduates of Latta High School, and has been created to honor the school board’s trustees. 

“We are pleased to make this announcement as part of the FMU Teacher Education Fund,” said Dr. John Kirby, superintendent of Dillon School District 3 (Latta area) schools.

“We whole-heartedly support FMU’s teacher education program,” he said.  “With the teacher shortage we need to do everything possible to encourage good high school graduates to enter the teaching field.  What better way for a school board to honor its trustees than by supporting the schools and growing our own teachers?  It’s a win-win situation for the trustees, the schools and our students.”

“We are so proud to honor our trustees and to help our schools develop new teachers,” Latta School Board chairperson Lou Ellen Bethea said.  “The Latta schools have always enjoyed a very good relationship with FMU.  We need good teachers for our students to be challenged to learn all they can and to become good, productive citizens in our society.”

The FMU Teacher Education Fund was recently established by FMU alumni and friends to fund scholarships for students interested in teacher education programs.  To date, the fund has raised $32,106 for teacher education scholarships.  Participating school districts include Florence School District 2 (Pamplico schools) and Dillon County School District 3 (Latta schools).

The Financial Assistance Committee of FMU will award the scholarship to a student majoring in education or to a student seeking teaching certification.  Students must have a cumulative grade point average of 2.75 or higher and be a graduate of Latta High School.

Preference will be given to an undergraduate student, but FMU graduate students who are current employees of the Latta School District may be considered if no undergraduate student qualifies for the scholarship.

“We greatly appreciate and are encouraged by the alumni support of the FMU Teacher Education program,” Dr. Robert Sawyer, dean of the School of Education, Behavioral and Social Sciences, said.  “We believe the scholarship support speaks to the high caliber of teaching professionals that FMU helps train.”

Francis Marion University: Preparing educators for the 21st Century


Last Published: June 21, 2004 12:56 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from