University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Sallenger Named FMU's Outstanding Staff Employee

FLORENCE---Joseph W. Sallenger of Florence has been named the outstanding staff employee of the year at Francis Marion University. 

The award was presented July 16 during the staff awards luncheon which also honored FMU employees for length of state service. 

 Sallenger, the manager of fine arts and mass communications services, has been employed at FMU for 18 years.  He was chosen from 29 nominations.

Sallenger was cited for his outstanding contributions in support of the faculty and students within his department and for his “initiative, motivation and quality of service.”  The nomination cited Sallenger’s ability to anticipate needs and seek solutions to problems, repair equipment, assist performing artists and work many extra hours—all exercising good judgment and character.

 President Fred Carter and State Treasurer Grady Patterson presented Sallenger with a plaque and a $1,000 check for winning the first of what will be an annual award for FMU’s non-faculty employees.  Patterson was a guest speaker at the awards presentation.

 Three other university employees were cited as finalists for the staff award.  They were Myra M. Hall of Mullins, a 21-year employee who heads classification, compensation and employment in Human Resources; Mary A. Gregg of Florence, a 14-year employee who manages the campus printing operation and mail center; and Eleanor K. Rogers of Dillon, a 28-year employee who serves as administrative assistant in the School of Education, Behavioral and Social Sciences.

 Recipients of length of service awards are:

30 Years---Theresa A. Wachowski of Florence.

 20 Years---Linda D. Becote of Pamplico, Myra M. Hall of Mullins, Carl S. Harper of Marion, Eliza B. Crawford, Cathleen B. Delung, Kenneth J. Pittman, Marsha C. Prince, James L. Renneker, Diane J. Scarborough, Carolyn R. Stokes and Marion L. Webb, all of Florence.

 10 Years---Christal C. Bazen of Lamar, Dean W. Blackburn of Marion, Carl E. Capps of Quinby, Phyllis R. Driggers of Darlington, Marvin McCray of Timmonsville, Jo G. Parrott of Effingham,  Damon L. Runion of Lake City, David S. Robinson of Mullins, Catherine A. Abbott, Paul D. Bannister, Rebecca M. Culbertson, Fred R. David, Judy B. Gasque, Diana L. Gibson, Yulaundra F. Heyward, Elizabeth B. Jackson, Linda L. Jacobs, Kenneth D. Kitts, Jeffrey Pompe, Kathleen S. Pompe, Mitchell Pressley, Cynthia A. Price, John G. Rae III, William M. Ramsey, Christina M. Scott, Janie Mae Sims, Linda R. Singleton, M. Suzanne Singleton, R. Sethfield Smith and John M. Summer, all of Florence.

 Two other employees were honored for being the first to graduate from the university’s Quality University Employee Skills Training (QUEST) program.  Frank Gibbons of Sellers earned his GED certificate, and Brunson Gibbs of Florence earned his high school diploma through classes at Poynor Adult Education Center.


Last Published: June 22, 2004 11:10 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from