University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



23 FMU students inducted into Honor Society

FLORENCE – Twenty-three Francis Marion University students were inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently. Phi Kappa Phi is an interdisciplinary national honor society which unites graduates based on scholarship.

Students initiated were:

From Coward: Darlene Frances Matthews, psychology major; from Effingham: Belva Lynn Kirven, biology major;  from Hartsville: Joy Leanne Bass, early childhood education major; Robert Joseph Odom, Jr. of Hartsville, mathematics major; and Kelly Jones Wallace of Hartsville, English teacher certification.

From Florence: Buffy Michelle Boatwright, English teacher certification; Stacey Elizabeth Erwin, biology major; Amanda Evans Jordan, psychology major; William Stephan McCall, chemistry major; Carrie Jo Nice, English major; Robert Carroll Sanders, political science major; and Deborah Joann Smith, biology major.

From Lake City: Steve Keith Fennel, psychology major; from Marion: Holton Davis Hill, computer science major; from Nichols: Alan Howard Dietz, mass communication major; and from Timmonsville: Laurie B. Miller, biology major.

From out of state: Brian Pau Chiswell of Otisville, N.Y., biology major; Heather Michelle Duncan of Greenville, Tenn., biology major; Laura Elizabeth Fitzsimmons of Hicksville, N.Y., theatre arts major; Andrew James Graaf of Blairgowrie, S.A., computer information systems management major; David Wayne Gardner Jr. of Deltona, Fla., biology major; Sheryl Lynn Vyverman of Grand Rapids, Mich., elementary education major; and Jonathan Lee Weatherly of Kingsport, Tenn., biology major.

#290 / 5.6.99

Last Published: June 24, 2004 7:03 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from