University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



13 Teachers Chosen for FMU Writing Project

FLORENCE---Thirteen public school teachers from the Pee Dee have been selected to participate in the 1999 Swamp Fox Writing Project Institute this summer at Francis Marion University.

 Suzanne Cherry, an assistant professor with a dual appointment in English and education, is director of FMU’s writing project.  She said the teachers were selected from 83 nominations made by principals and superintendents of schools throughout the Pee Dee.  The teachers will attend day-long sessions on the FMU campus from June 9-30 to improve their own writing and the teaching of writing.

 The teachers will earn six hours of graduate credit for the intensive coursework and then become writing consultants and conduct workshops and training sessions for other teachers in their school systems this fall.

 FMU is seeking to become a national writing project site, and the Swamp Fox Writing Project is part of that effort.  Working with Cherry in this effort are Linda Dowling of Williams Middle School and Rebecca Flannagan, assistant professor of English at FMU.

 Teachers chosen for FMU’s summer’s institute are:

• Susan Burns, Darlington Junior High School, Darlington County.

• Arla Cox, West Florence High School, Florence County.

• Michelle Davis, Kingstree Middle School, Williamsburg County.

• Sallie Folk, Johnakin Middle School, Marion County.

• Francine Gasque, Wilson High School, Florence County.

• Gail Hayes, Darlington High School, Darlington County.

• Stacie Kirby, Lake City Primary School, Florence County.

• Alfreda Johnson, Mt. Pleasant High School, Lee County.     

• Travis Martin, Marion Intermediate School, Marion County.

• Sandra Matthews, Marion Intermediate School, Marion County.

• Gayle Morgan, Hannah-Pamplico High School, Florence County.

• Susan Rae, Southside Middle School, Florence County.

• Cynthia Stroup, Theodore Lester School, Florence County.


Last Published: June 25, 2004 5:16 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from