University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Hendrick to Head Heritage Center Board

FLORENCE –Carlanna Hendrick, a member of the faculty at the South Carolina Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics in Hartsville, has been elected chair of the Pee Dee Heritage Center Board of Directors. The Florence native succeeds Glen Lawhon of Hartsville who has chaired the board for several years.

 The Heritage Center, based at Francis Marion University, endeavors to celebrate and promote interest in the history and heritage of the Pee Dee region through twice-a-year public programs and publications.  FMU, Coker College, Coastal Carolina University and the Governor’s School jointly sponsor the center.

Also elected at the spring meeting of the Heritage Center board (March 22) was Larry Nelson of FMU’s history department, vice chair; Carolyn Govan of Hartsville, secretary; and Beth Mullins of Marion, treasurer.

The following were elected to three-year terms on the board:  Don Barclay of Dillon, an active member of  the Dillon County Historical Society and other community groups;  B. E. Coggeshall of Cheraw, a retired physician and former member of the FMU Board of Trustees; Janson Cox, executive director of the South Carolina Cotton Museum in Bishopville and recently retired manager of Charles Towne Landing – 1670 in Charleston.

Also, Caroline Dargan of Darlington, a former member of the board of All Saints Episcopal Church Day School and a member of the team that recently acquired “Scenic Byway” designation for a 7.2-mile stretch of the Old Charleston Highway in Darlington County; Conway realtor Carlisle Dawsey, a past president of the Horry County Historical Society and current member of that group’s board of directors; and Latta innkeeper Michael S. Griffey, vice chairman of the Latta Revitalization Committee and chairman of its promotions committee.

Also, La-Tricia Hollimon of Hartsville, an electrical engineer at the Dupont plant in Florence, an Alabama native, and currently involved in the Darlington County Palmetto Project; Darlington attorney John Jay James, a former Darlington city councilman and president of the Darlington Downtown Revitalization Association, serving on the boards of the Black Creek Trust, Darlington County Palmetto Project and the steering committee of the Pee Dee-Yadkin River Study; Bennettsville newspaper Editor/Publisher William L. Kinney Jr. , a former president of the South Carolina Confederation of Local Historical Societies and chairman of the South Carolina Archives and History Commission.  Kinney is serving his third term as chairman of the board of trustees of the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.

Also, Allene T. McCoy of Bishopville, co-chairman of the group whose efforts launched the South Carolina Cotton Museum and board member of the Bishopville Chamber of Commerce and Central Carolina Technical College; Dolores J. Miller of Florence, former executive assistant to the president of FMU and active member in local and state activities of the League of Women Voters and several Florence community organizations; Brenda Newsome of Hartsville, retired French teacher who is active in several Hartsville civic and cultural groups including the Hartsville Museum, Hartsville Heritage, Hartsville Memorial Library and Black Creek Arts; Joseph T. Stukes of Florence, retired chair of the FMU department of history; and Charles M. Rogers of Bennettsville, a farmer who is active in several Marlboro County civic and historical groups.

For more information about the Pee Dee Heritage Center or its programs, contact Dew James, director, at 843-661-1567.


Last Published: June 25, 2004 6:53 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from