University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Mayo and Latta High Schools Take Top Honors in Math Tournament

FLORENCE, S.C. – Mayo High School for Math, Science, and Technology and Latta High School took top honors in their respective divisions in the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.  The tournament, sponsored by the Pee Dee Education Center and Francis Marion University, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building auditorium.

The 22nd-annual event featured approximately 250 students from 22 area schools.

Participating schools were divided into Division I and Division II schools.  Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II.

All students took an 18-question written exam during morning competition.  Jingtian Yu of Wilson High School recorded the highest individual result on the exam by answering 17 questions correctly.

The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals.

The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.

In Division I, Latta won its first-ever title by defeating Johnsonville, Hannah-Pamplico, and Mullins high schools.  Johnsonville and Hannah-Pamplico tied for second.  The four individuals who represented Latta in the finals were Antron Heyward, Anand Patel, Leonard Ravenell, and Deidra Roberts.  Susan Newton is the Latta math team adviser.

Among Division II schools, Mayo captured its first team title, after finishing second in the 1999 competition.  Wilson High School placed second, followed by Marlboro County and Marion high schools.  Representing Mayo in the afternoon finals were Casey Hancock, Rusty Lee, Bill Suski, and Molly Tinius.  Lynda Cottingham serves as the adviser for the Mayo math team.


Last Published: June 7, 2004 5:13 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from