University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



14 FMU students to be initiated into Pi Sigma Alpha

FLORENCE, S.C. - Fourteen Francis Marion University students will be inducted into the Rho Lambda Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha on April 21.

 Pi Sigma Alpha is the national honor society for those interested in political science. Students in the honor society must have at least 15 hours in political science courses and carry a minimum 3.0 grade point average. The students are in the upper third of their classes overall.

FMU President Dr. Luther F. Carter will be the chapter inductee and state Rep. Woodrow M. McKay will be the honorary initiate.

Remarks will be given by Dr. Kenneth D. Kitts, chairman of the FMU Department of Political Science, and Dr. D. Bruce Hicks, a professor of political science at Cumberland College and a former Francis Marion faculty member.

Students to be inducted are: Robert S. Anderson of Coward; Geneva E. Andrews of Columbia; Daniel T. Brown, James P. Gremillion, Rodney C. Ruth, Rob Sanders and Keith A. Thomerson, all of Florence; Tara J. Floyd of Lake City; Kelette S. Foxworth of Latta; Pamela L. Jones of Charleston; Nicholas W. Lewis of Hemingway; Jerry L. Locklair Jr. of Lynchburg; William H. McLaurin of Dillon; and Amanda K. Staples of Aynor.

Rose C. Joyce of Keller, Texas, will be presented with the 1999-2000 Jamie Lee Owens Memorial Research Award.

The ceremony will take place at Bazen’s Restaurant in Florence at 7 p.m.

#256 / 4-17-00

Last Published: June 7, 2004 11:13 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from