University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



28 Former FMU Faculty Members Named Professors Emeriti

FLORENCE---Twenty-eight former faculty members at Francis Marion University have been honored with the title of professor emeritus.

 The professor emeritus designation recognizes those faculty members who have a minimum of 12 years full-time service to the institution and have been recommended by the faculty and provost.  The first 28 recipients, all retired from the university, were honored during Thursday night’s (April 13) faculty awards banquet on campus.

 “I am delighted that the university is paying tribute to these distinguished colleagues who served this institution so faithfully for many years,” said FMU President Fred Carter.  “I am hopeful that this honorary title lets them know that we are grateful for their years of dedicated service here and that each one of them remains a part of the Francis Marion University family.”

All emeriti faculty members were presented citations recognizing their service to the university.   The former faculty members also will be issued a faculty parking permit and an identification card, allowing them to use Rogers Library, Stanton Academic Computer Center, Cauthen Educational Media Center and Smith University Center.  They also will be allowed to attend all FMU sporting events free of charge and to receive a 10 percent discount at the bookstore on all items except textbooks.

A plaque listing emeriti faculty will be placed in the Stokes Administration Building, and they will be listed in the university catalog.  Office space for research or other university-related projects will be made on a space-available basis.

 Former faculty who were honored with the professor emeriti designation are:

• Marian Cusac, Marion, S.C.
• Beverly Spears, Florence, S.C.
• Lucy Thrower, Florence, S.C.
• Donald Bailey, Florence, S.C.
• Albert Bickley, Boone, N.C.
• Lloyd Birch, Effingham, S.C.
• William Breazeale Jr., Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
• Theodore Cart, Hawley, Pa.
• Morgan Coker, Florence, S.C.
• Lynn Croshaw, Florence, S.C.
• Charles Doryland, Littleton, Colo.
• Donald Grace, Durham, N.C.
• Rufus Hackney Jr., Florence, S.C.
• Harlan Hawkins, Florence, S.C.
• Louis Hoff, Naples, Fla.
• Joseph James, Florence, S.C.
• James Kimbell Jr., Florence, S.C.
• Johannes Lischka, Florence, S.C.
• William Moran, Greenwood, S.C.
• Robert Parham, Savannah, Ga.
• Charles Parker, Florence, S.C.
• Robert Ryan, Florence, S.C.
• Jack Smith, Tijeras, N.M.
• Walter D. Smith, Florence, S.C.
• Joseph Stukes, Florence, S.C.
• Lawrence Swails, Florence, S.C.
• Franklin West, Florence, S.C.
• Theodore Zuppa, Florence, S.C.


Last Published: June 7, 2004 11:42 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from