University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:




FLORENCE – The Francis Marion University Artist Series will present the Pacifica Quartet in a free concert Thursday, March 2, at 8 p.m. in the Kassab Recital Hall, Hyman Fine Arts Center.  The public is invited.

The Pacifica Quartet features musicians Simm Ganatra on violin, Isabel Trautwein on violin, Kathryn Lockwood on viola, and Brandon Vamos on cello.

With an array of awards to its credit, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award, the 1997 Nathan Wedeen Management Award at the Concert Artists Guild Competition and the 1996 Grand Prize at the Coleman Chamber Music Competition, the Pacifica Quartet is earning a reputation for distinctive music-making.

From its inception, the Pacifica Quartet has enjoyed an active touring schedule, which has recently taken the group to Australia and Panama, and coast-to-coast from Los Angeles and San Francisco to Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall in New York City. Their 1999-2000 season includes performances in Honolulu, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, and New York. The Quartet has participated in numerous festivals, including Music at Gretna, the Bellingham Music Festival, Strings in the Mountains, the Sedona Chamber Music Festival, La Jolla Summerfest, and the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, which sponsored the quartet on a New Mexico tour in 1996.

Founded in Los Angeles in 1994, the quartet is now based in Chicago, where it serves as Resident Quartet at the University of Chicago and the Music Institute of Chicago. The quartet is also involved in the Music Integration Project, an innovative educational outreach program that provides musical performances and teacher training in inner-city elementary schools.

In the spring of 1999, the quartet participated in Performance Today's Artist-in-Residence program at National Public Radio in Washington D.C.  The March 2 program will include pieces composed by Schubert, Stravinsky, Beethoven, and Mendelssohn.


Last Published: June 8, 2004 11:06 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from