University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



President Bush Appoints FMU's Carter To Commission on White House Fellowships

FLORENCE---Fred Carter, president of Francis Marion University, is one of 23 persons appointed by President George W. Bush to serve on the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships.

 Carter is the only South Carolinian named to the commission.

Through executive order, the Commission on White House Fellowships prescribes the standards and procedures in recommending annually a group of outstanding individuals among whom the President may select as White House Fellows.

 The President appoints outstanding citizens from the fields of public affairs, education, the sciences, the professions, other fields of private endeavor and government service to serve on the commission.  Members of the commission review the credentials and interview nominees for White House Fellowships and make recommendations to the President.  The commission also monitors the progress of the White House Fellows during their appointments.

Fellows will be assigned to serve on the White House staff, in the Executive Office of the President, in the office of the Vice President, in the offices of members of the Cabinet, or in the offices of other Executive Branch officials. White House Fellows begin their appointments on Sept. 1 of the year in which they are selected. They serve for a period not to exceed 365 days.

 Other commission appointees are:

• Brad Freeman, founder and general partner, Freeman Spogli & Co., Los Angeles, Calif., chairman.

• Angela Antonelli, director of the Thomas A. Roe Institute for Economic Studies, the Heritage Foundation, Great Falls, Va.

• Rosemarie Avila, executive director, Orange County Youth Commission, Santa Ana, Calif.

• Richard Bearden, senior partner, Impact Management Group, Inc., Little Rock, Ark.

• James E. Bostic Jr., executive vice president, Environmental and Governmental Affairs, Georgia-Pacific Corp., Atlanta, Ga.

• Paula Brooks, managing partner, Royal Wulff Ventures, Park City, Wyoming.

• Gilberto Cardenas, assistant provost and director, Center for Latino Studies at Notre Dame, South Bend, Ind.

• Martha Chayet, consultant, the Oxbridge Group, Boston, Mass.

• Ben Crenshaw, professional golfer and golf course architect, Austin, Texas.

• Mike Duncan, chief executive officer, Community Holding Co., Inez, Ky.

• Clayton Fong, president and chief executive officer, National Asian Pacific Center on Aging, Seattle, Wash.

• Valde Garcia, Michigan State Senator, Lansing, Mich.

• Jimmy Gurule, law professor, Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, Ind.

• Marcia Jackson, consultant, business development, Jackson Roy Consulting, Austin, Texas.

• Olden Lee, retired Pepsi Co. executive, Scottsdale, Ariz.

• Manual Lujan Jr., consultant, Lujan & Associates, former member of Congress and Secretary of the Interior, Abuquerque, N.M.

• Bruno V. Manno, senior program associate in education, Annie E. Casey Foundation, Washington, D.C.

• William McGurn, chief editorial writer, Wall Street Journal, New York, N.Y.

• Philip Montante, judge, U.S. Immigration Court, Williamsville, N.Y.

• Patrick Noonan, chairman, the Conservation Fund, Potomac, Md.

• Alan Paul Novak, attorney, Conrad O’Brien, Gellman and Rohn, West Chester, Pa.

• Paul Simon, professor, Southern Illinois University, and former U.S. Senator, Makanda, Ill.

Margaret McKeown, a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals, Seattle, Wash.,is an ex officio member of the commission.

#223 / 6-19-01

Last Published: February 14, 2006 6:45 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from