University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Mayo and Latta High Schools Repeat and Take Top Honors in Math Tournament

FLORENCE, S.C. – Mayo High School for Math, Science, and Technology and Latta High School successfully defended their titles and took top honors at the recent Pee Dee Regional High School Mathematics Tournament.  The tournament, sponsored by the Pee Dee Education Center and Francis Marion University, was held in the university’s McNair Science Building auditorium.

The 23nd-annual event featured approximately 200 students from 14 area schools.

Participating schools were divided into Division I and Division II schools.  Schools with A and AA athletic classifications were considered Division I, while AAA and AAAA athletic classifications were considered Division II.

All students took a one-hour written exam during morning competition.  Matthew Townsend of Mayo recorded the highest individual result on the exam by earning 14 points.  Brian Benton of Hannah-Pamplico High School, Jingtian Yu of Wilson High School, and Angel Fredrickson of Marion High School each earned 13 points. Yu was last year’s individual winner.

The top four individual test scores from each school were combined to create a team score.  The four schools in each division with the highest team score qualified for the afternoon finals.

The finals consisted of four individuals from each qualifying school answering questions flashed onto an overhead screen.  Points were awarded to the first, second, and third persons who answered correctly.

In Division I, Latta won its second straight title by defeating Johnsonville (second), Mullins (third), and Hannah-Pamplico (fourth) high schools.  The four individuals who represented Latta in the finals were Antron Heyward, Amanda Allen, Leonard Ravenell, and Sandra Roberts.  Susan Newton is the Latta math team adviser.

Among Division II schools, Mayo captured its second consecutive team title, after finishing second in the 1999 competition.  Marion placed second, followed by Wilson and South Florence High School.  Representing Mayo in the afternoon finals were Casey Hancock, Rusty Lee, Bill Suski, and Matthew Townsend.  Lynda Cottingham serves as the adviser for the Mayo math team.


Last Published: May 6, 2004 11:17 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from