University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Beta Gamma Sigma honor society inducts 21 members at FMU

FLORENCE, S.C. – Beta Gamma Sigma, a scholastic business honor society, recently inducted 21 new members at Francis Marion University.

Barry O’Brien, an associate professor of economics at FMU and the university’s Distinguished Professor for 2000-01, welcomed new members.

The FMU chapter honored Dr. Sompong Kraikit, a Florence physician who has been a major benefactor of higher education in South Carolina for more than 20 years. Kraikit currently serves on the executive committee of the FMU Foundation Board, and recently provided a gift to establish the International MBA Scholarship at FMU.

 Initiates, by hometown, are:

Bennettsville: Emily Louise Culbertson
Florence: Kelly Louise Brown, Lavelle Nicole Bruce, Mary Beth Cameron, Stephanie Paige Lewis, Marcie Elaine Purvis
Kingstree: Sharon Marie Grubb
Latta: Marcella N. Baker, Casey Renee Demery, Michael Joseph Kirby
Lexington: Thomas Leland Drago Jr.
Moncks Corner: Sarah Elizabeth Winningham
Nichols: Rachel Denise Jones
Taylors: Jeremy Ryan Groom
West Columbia: Nickolas Thomas Fraser


Alexandria, Va.: Eleanor Michelle Meehan
Topeka, Kan.: Janet Marie Rice
Shoreham, N.Y.: Sabina Gloria Sapienza


Lootnantsgarden, Sweden: Magnus Johan Samuelsson
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa: Andrew Robert Grant Ross
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia: Judson Lorne Dane Ruig

#195 / 4-23-01

Last Published: May 6, 2004 12:06 PM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from