University Communications
News Releases
FMU Report
University Images
Archived News Releases
Archived Sports Releases
Arts International
Summer Camps
2015 Outstanding Staff Service Awards

Future Students:



Twelve inducted into Phi Alpha Theta honor society at FMU

FLORENCE, S.C. – Twelve Francis Marion University students were initiated into Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society in history, during a banquet on April 4.

 Following the ceremony and banquet, Ken Kitts, chairman of the Department of Political Science, History and Geography at FMU, spoke to the initiates. The chapter adviser is Duane P. Myers, a professor of history at FMU.

 To be eligible, students must have completed 12 hours of history courses with a grade-point average higher than 3.0, have a GPA of at least 3.0 in their other courses, and rank in the top 35 percent of their class.

Students initiated, by hometown, are:

Clover: Karina D. Landires

Darlington: Deena M. Carpenter, Vickie S. Longo

Dorchester: Alistair M. Connor

Florence: David J. Chapman II, Rodney C. Ruth Jr., Rebekka Joye Tebalt

Marion: Phillip A. Alvarez, Paul A. Wallace

Mount Pleasant: John A. Walko

Turbeville: Charles Edward Scurry


Sunset Beach, N.C.: Rebecca Ann Robb

#180 / 4-10-01

Last Published: May 7, 2004 8:49 AM
Empowered by Extend, a school software solution from